Young Adult

NaNoWriMo Day 12: Nowhere NEAR my “goal”

Just checked to see where I SHOULD be on my novel. 18,000 words, huh? Yeah… I think I have just over 6,000?

What is a girl to do?!

Well, I suppose first off, I should just breathe. Because truthfully, if I really think about it, I’ve probably only logged maybe 3-4 total hours writing over the past week. While that’s not really what I had hoped would happen, I think my word count is where it should be based on my logged hours.

Now comes my writing worries:

When you write, do you feel like you write scenes that are straight out of other books? Not purposefully, obviously, but those are just the words that are coming out of your fingers?

I’ve been running into this a lot as I’ve been writing and am having to stop myself. Yes, I know that with this particular challenge I’m just supposed to write and not over-think things, but if my main character falls in love with a vampire who struggles to kill her even though he loves her, what do you think the chances are of said girl having a werewolf best friend, who is also in love with her?

Do you do anything to combat copying plots or scenarios?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 12: Nowhere NEAR my “goal””

  1. Oh my gosh, YES. I feel like I am writing the Divergent series, straight up. The plot is really not similar but just the scenes that I have to write to get this girl from A to B, I feel like she’s living part of Tris’s life and it’s like ACK. How do I make this original? haha. I figure I just write write write write and get it all down and then change things later in the editing rounds. I need words first and foremost and then I can change it so that it doesn’t sound like Divergent haha

    Like

  2. I hadn’t thought of that before but I guess I would worry about plot points being similar. I like Brittany’s advice to just keep writing and edit later. I’ve heard that some authors stop reading genres that they’ve chosen to write about to avoid that conflict of interest. But I’d think that’s harder to overcome for book bloggers who read so much.
    Anyway, I think you’re doing great with your writing so far! Keep it up, rah rah rah, and all that 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s not something I’ve really thought about before, and I’m sure I have scenes that are really similar to other books I’ve read. But I don’t really worry about it, because I’m writing it for me, and the chances of it seeing the light of day are pretty slim. I’d say to just write, and not worry about it being similar to anything else because it can always be edited later.

    Don’t worry about being so far behind! I think I’m at around 3400, so at least you have more words than I do! Good luck!

    Like

  4. I feel like I’m in the same boat. Nowhere near where I need to be and whenever I get a great idea and start writing it… I also great the feeling that I’ve read it before.

    I suppose that most books are always going to have similarities to other books out there – whether I’ve read them before or not. As long as I’m not plagorizing then I should probably keep working on it.

    Good luck with your novel!

    Like

  5. I am glad I’m not the only one no where near my goal! I am so behind it’s not even funny. Hopefully, I’ll have some time and be able to catch up. My problem is I’ll write something and then later I’ll be reading a book (that I’ve never read) and think “What? That sounds just like what I wrote in my book!” I think it’s just something that happens so I wouldn’t worry too much about sounding like another book you’ve read as long as it’s not word for word or anything!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

