Casting Call

Casting Call: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Casting Call: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Casting Call is a super new feature that myself and a few of my favorite bloggers have put together! Here’s how it works: Each Friday we’ll post a different book we’ve LOVED and list who we would hope would star in it should it ever be adapted into a movie! Feel free to join in the discussion and let us know if you agree or disagree with our choices!

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephenie Perkins
Synopsis: Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket—a gifted inventor—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of 6 fabulous book bloggers seriously, but if they ever decide to…. 🙂
Lola – Seriously, there is not a more rockin character out there than Lola. She’s cool, she’s fun, she’s got killer style and marches to the beat of her own drummer. But she’s got serious heart, serious feelings. I have mad admiration for her. I’m not going to lie, I love the cover of this book so whoever the girl in the picture is should probably just play Lola. Because she is Lola. But since I’m sure she’s probably a model and not really an actress, I’ve gotta choose an actress. And really the entire time I was reading (well, listening bc I chose to listen to the audiobook instead of reading it) I pictured someone who looked very similar to the girl on the cover. And that someone was Amber Tamblyn. Yes, I realize she’s like 30 and YES I realize she just recently played a freakin doctor on House, but whatever. She looks like Lola to me.
Cricket Bell – Y’all… Cricket Bell may not be the hottest guy around, but good lord he is perfect! I mean, when he tells Lola the story “once upon a time, there was a girl who talked to the moon,” I swooned! Cricket is kind of tall, gangly, awkward… but perfectly charming. So naturally who else to pick but tall, gangly, awkward but perfectly charming Andrew Garfield! I mean, while he’s not swinging around from spider webs I think he would make an excellent Cricket!
Lola’s Dads – So maybe I’m cheating here because they already play a couple on Modern Family, but I want to cast Jessee Tyler Ferguson and Eric Stonestreet as Lola’s dads. Her dads have this really super marriage (or I guess relationship) that to me is what a marriage should be – two partners working together. They do an excellent job with Lola and don’t really fit into gay stereotypes, which made me extra happy. The entire time I was listening I kept picturing them as the couple from Modern Family and it made me entirely happy!
Maggie & Dixie @ Gone Pecan          Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks  

            Tee @ Ya Crush            Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Don’t forget! You can join us in casting Lola and the Boy Next Door! Head over here to sign up!

7 thoughts on “Casting Call: Lola and the Boy Next Door”

  1. hahahaha I chose Mitchell & Cam too. How could you not?
    I really like Amber Tamblyn. She’s got that spunk required for Lola! Can we just cast regular-age actors? hahah. I don’t know many teens 😛

    Like

  2. I think Amber Tamblyn has a young face if you gave her the right clothes/makeup she could play a high schooler. But I sort of agree that the girl on the cover was the perfect Lola. I didn’t agree so much with the Cricket they had on the cover either. Too preppy looking!

    Like

  3. Nice casting choices! I never would have thought of Andrew Garfield but I like it, and he seems sweet and funny in his interviews like Cricket. Amber Tamblyn has a good look for Lola too, edgy but fun. The dads in Lola are so great!

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh, yes a million times to Andrew Garfield being Cricket. He so looks the part, and I think he could totally play Cricket!

    I admit it is hard for me to picture Amber Tamblyn as Lola but I remember watching her on General Hospital! Amber does seem to have a thing for old guys though, so maybe she would be perfect for Lola 🙂

    I actually really like Brittany’s pick for Lola though – Anna Sophia Robb. Her eyes remind me so much of Lola.

    So I’m thinking Anna Sophia Robb as Lola and Andrew Garfield as Cricket. Perfection in my eyes! 🙂

    Like

  5. Andrew Garfield would be an amazing Cricket. My daughter and I loved your choice for him (we both read Lola). My daughter also kept wanting Sandie and I to pick the dads from Modern Family. They are one of the best parts of that show!! I totally love them and they would be great dads for Lola, except that for me, personally, they are a bit younger than how I pictured them.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

