Young Adult

NaNoWriMo Day 1: WTF did I get myself into?!

So today starts National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and I have decided to participate. I’m still asking myself what was I thinking, but maybe it’ll be fun. Right?

Since this is supposed to be a community project as well as writing your novel in 30 days (just 30? OMG…) I thought I’d periodically post about it on here, letting my fellow bloggers be my motivators and cheerleaders.

And if you’re participating I’ll totally return the favor. Go team go! Write! Write! Write!

I started writing a little while ago and am up to 298 words. I think that’s pretty impressive considering I’m supposed to be working. You know. At my job. But here’s what I’m stuck on: a name for the main character. I can NEVER come up with ones I like and feel completely foolish making up fantasy names. Does anyone else have that problem? How do you go about choosing names?

So that’s about it for now. Gotta get back to my awesome story. Here’s hoping by the end of the day my mere 298 words will be closer to 1,000!

Happy writing, writing buddies!

16 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 1: WTF did I get myself into?!”

  1. Oh my gosh, same here! I am so bad with inventing names. I’m working ona dystopian so I want the names to sound a little different but not so much that they’re too weird, ya know? And I really need the name to fit the character. And then there’s naming fake places and companies and AHHH. I haven’t been to this page yet, but there’s a post in the NaNo forum where people can list/suggest names and you can adopt some. I might check it out later!

    Like

  2. I just actually do internet searches for names and write a ton down until they stick with me. It’s hard because sometime real live people ruin names for me. I love Nanowrimo, but I usually give up about two weeks in (only to spend the rest of the month helping my kid (now both kids) typing their stories so they can hit their goals (the Young Nano Program is awesome). So cheers to new beginnings!

    Like

  3. Good luck! Wow! They let you write your novel at your place of employment???? I want to come to work there…oh wait…you meant that you’re sneaking in some writing time, huh? Keep it up!! The words add up quickly, sometimes mine don’t make a lot of sense, but the word count keeps moving on anyhow…

    Like

    1. Good luck! I’m with ya! As for names I do something weird. I talk out a conversation that character would have and I respond to her via the other character using the name that fits and feels right. Weird eh?

      Like

  4. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has trouble coming up with character names. A few years ago, I looked at some baby name website and made a spreadsheet of all the names I liked. I usually go by whatever name seems the coolest.

    This is my 7th year doing NaNo, and I still wonder what I’m getting myself into. Good luck!

    Like

  5. I’m cheering you on, Candice! You can do it!
    Character names are so important but I agree tricky to think of the right one. I see authors asking their readers for name suggestions all the time on fb. I’d probably choose one of my daughter’s friends names or look at a baby name book.
    Have fun writing! Looking forward to hearing more about what you come up with 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

