Casting Call

Casting Call: Shadow and Bone

Casting Call is a super new feature that myself and a few of my favorite bloggers have put together! Here’s how it works: Each Friday we’ll post a different book we’ve LOVED and list who we would hope would star in it should it ever be adapted into a movie! Feel free to join in the discussion and let us know if you agree or disagree with our choices!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Synopsis: Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha…and the secrets of her heart.
Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of 6 fabulous book bloggers seriously, but if they ever decide to…. 🙂
Alina Starkov – Alina is this reluctant little hero that could. She’s not PRETTY per se, but has something about her that’s easily fixed. A little magic here, a little magic there and presto! most beautiful girl in the room. I, of course, can relate. I think of her as being this odd mixture of the girl next door, a little bit snobby, and kind of naive. When I was thinking about who I wanted to cast as her, I knew I wanted someone who embodied all these things but still could hold a sword. Or be actiony. So after running over all the actiony characters in movies I love, I came to the conclusion that duh, I want to cast Anna Popplewell as Alina! First off, she’s got an accent, and while it’s not Russian, it’s still better than an American one. And she’s sort of got this weird beauty to her. I think she’s gorgeous and classic, but still a little mysterious and forlorn. And based on her fighting in Prince Caspian, I think she could handle the training/fighting in Shadow and Bone!
Mal – Sam Claflin Mal is Alina’s childhood BFF who she is secretly in love with. He’s in the army with her, but is a scout/fighter/I don’t remember. I imagined him kind of rugged and sexy and tall with muscleys.
*moments later after pulling myself away from daydreaming of Mal* I just discovered the sexiness that is Sam Claflin when I watched Snow White and the Huntsman. I kind of think he’d pull off Mal preeeetty well.
*moments later after Googling Sam Claflin* CRAP! He’s playing Finnick Odair in Catching Fire. Fine, whatever. But I think he’d be good as Mal.
The Darkling – The Darkling is the leader of the Grisha and is dark and charming and totally, totally sexy. And while he sets off all your warning signals that he could possibly be dangerous, you don’t care because he makes your toes curl with his sexiness. I had a little trouble casting him because I wanted someone who would emulate all these things, but I didn’t want to be totally obvious. So scratch Ian Somerhalder (who would KILL this role for sure). Which led me to Benedict Cumberbatch. Not really how I pictured the Darkling, but I think he could pull it off nicely. He’s got this way of being sort of dark and mysterious and can convey these huge emotions with a single, slight movement. So yeah… I’m going with him.
And besides, Ian does this weird thing with his eyes and the entire time I’d be waiting for him to vamp out and bite Alina.
Check out who my fellow Casting Call buds have picked for their cast!
Maggie & Dixie @ Gone Pecan          Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks  

            Tee @ Ya Crush            Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

And now for some exciting news!
You, yes YOU, can now sign up to join in on our Casting Call feature! Visit Teen Lit Rocks and link up to your own Casting Call of Shadow and Bone!
10 thoughts on “Casting Call: Shadow and Bone”

  1. Everyone loves Ian for this role! I was so stuck on Matt Bomer that I totally forgot about him, but you’re right, he’s a really good go-to choice!
    I LOVE your Alina too!!!
    Seeing everyone’s picks is so much fun! Now we just need other people to join in *coughcough*

    Like

  2. HA! Ian totally does the crazy eyes. It’s like his trademark or something. Love him! I really love your choice of Anna Popplewell, because, I’ll be honest, I really wish I had her lips. She’s beautiful and she isn’t in enough films. Did you see that you and I both chose Sam Claflin? He is exactly, perfectly how I pictured Mal (so, I enjoyed every scene with him, obvs).

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

