To Do Lists

Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Authors in X Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

One thing that I’ve often mentioned was that as a young adult, I read very adult books. Namely romance novels that I first started reading because my mom left them around the house. Probably not the safest thing to do when you have a voracious young reader in your family, but live and learn.

Over the years reading has been something my mom and I have shared, so much so that it got to the point that we would buy books we wanted to read and give them to the other, just so that we could borrow them!

While my blog is mostly YA, I thought it would be fun to deviate from that for today and talk about a totally different genre.

Today’s Top Ten are the Top Ten Favorite Authors in the Historical Romance genre:

Judith Mcknaught – Judith wrote some of my FAVORITE books with romantic leads that still give me the tingles today. Which is saying a lot considering how many tingly romantic leads I read about these days!

Catherine Coulter – Coulter’s Sherbrooke series, or the Bride Series, were some of my favorites, although I didn’t read them in any type of order. She also has some good ones in different time periods, like Viking times.

Julie Garwood – She wrote my favorite series, the Crown’s Spies, and seriously, to this day, Colin gives me the toe curls; Nathan makes me swoon; and Caine… er, Nathan makes me swoon. But there are TONS of other great books she’s written! The Highlands’ Lairds series is great too. I got toe curls AND the swoons from it!

Shannon Drake – Although I’ve only read one book by her, Princess of Fire, this was one of my most memorable books I read growing up. Mostly because I felt so sneaky reading it and it was by far waaaaaay too dirty for a middle schooler to read!

Nora Roberts – Oh c’mon… what list like this wouldn’t be complete without Nora on it? She’s like the Meg Cabot of romance novels!

Jude Deveraux – I always think of her books as being extra dirty, which sometimes made them extra good. 🙂

Johanna Lindsey – Lindsey’s books were good, but always seeming to lack something. I think it was the dashingly dark romantic leads that I loved in McNaught’s and Garwood’s books, but they still had that special something that made them historical romance novel-worthy.

I think I did pretty well listing seven…

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Authors in X Genre”

    1. Nora Roberts is pretty awesome. Some of her stuff is waaaay out of my comfort zone and leaves me pretty cringy, but it’s usually all fresh and new, getting out of the romance novel molds. She also takes chances with her writing, which I really love.

      Like

  1. I also am a fan of Nora Roberts and Jude Deveraux… though mostly Nora’s contemps and Jude’s supernatural romances. I like romances with ghosts in them, I guess. I also have very vivid memories surrounding a few books that I read when I was too young for them… I’d hide them under my bed because I didn’t want my parents to know I was reading about sex!

    Like

    1. One of my favorite Nora Roberts books is Midnight Bayou (yes, I read it because I loved the movie!). It was pretty spooky, but really good. So I guess yeah, I like romances with ghosts in them, because being scared and romance seem to go hand in hand. 🙂

      Like

  2. Candice! I didn’t know you like historical romances. I used to read them all the time, but have drifted away from that genre the last few years.

    But I do still love them, and will go back to some of my favorites for a re-read from time to time. And my favorite author in this genre is definitely Julie Garwood. I adore her historical romances. Colin is totally swoon worthy – and Castles is one I re-read often. I also really like The Secret, The Bride, The Wedding, and Saving Grace. Okay, I liked all her historical romances except that new one she did a few years ago.

    Have you read any of Julia Quinn’s novels? I used to read her books a lot, although some I liked more than others. But the ones I liked, I loved! I particularly like books 1,2,and 4 from the Bridgerton series, and How to Marry a Marquis. I hated The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever, though, because I thought the “hero” was no hero, and totally a wimp.

    Fun post! Glad you tried something new! 🙂 Now, I want to crack open a Julie Garwood book.

    Like

    1. Oh man… I LOVE historical romances! I grew up on them, devouring book after book. I mostly stuck to the Regency period, because that seems to be such a sexy time, but really loved just about any period.

      I haven’t read any of Julia Quinn’s novels, but have heard nothing but great things. I really want to try some of them out!

      And yeah, Castles? One of my all-time favorites. I reread some of it a while back – it was a lot cheesier than I remember, but still oh so good!

      Like

  3. Oh my. Romance is a genre that I have a love/hate relationship with, especially adult romance. I’d like to give it another go. If I had to pick one of these, which would you suggest?

    Like

    1. Erm… Out of all of these my favorites were definitely Judith McNaught’s Regency period books. She has a lot of sassy, smart female main characters. That being said, if you’re wanting to give romance a go, I’d suggest Nora Roberts. She has SO. MANY. BOOKS. She writes multiple genres (contemporary, historical, fantasy, murder/mystery) so you’d have lots to choose from. One of my favorite series of hers is a paranormal fantasy, which is so weird to me that it’s considered romance! So, suggestions: Once and Always by Judith McNaught (my fave of this series of books) and/or Midnight Bayou by Nora Roberts (not historical romance, but one I really like!).

      Like

  4. Thanks for the great recs! I don’t know anything about this genre but I like your taste in books so I’m up to trying out historical romance sometime. I like the sound of Nora Roberts and Julie Garwood’s books.

    Like

  5. I’ve not read much Historical Romance but I started reading some Nora Roberts (Rebellion is the one on my bedside table at the moment) and I’m really enjoying it. I’ll have to go to the library and check out some of your other favourites

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

