Casting Call

Casting Call: Anna and the French Kiss

Casting Call: Anna and the French Kiss

Casting Call is a super new feature that myself and a few of my favorite bloggers have put together! Here’s how it works: Each Friday we’ll post a different book we’ve LOVED and list who we would hope would star in it should it ever be adapted into a movie! Feel free to join in the discussion and let us know if you agree or disagree with our choices!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephenie Perkins
Synopsis: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna has long awaited?
Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of 6 fabulous book bloggers seriously, but if they ever decide to…. 🙂
Anna – As I referred to her in my book review, Anna is my “long lost why have we not met sooner BFF!” She has this great personality that’s super witty and fun, but not in the slightest bit snarky or annoying. I think of Anna as just being a good Southern girl who is a little bit wild, but in a cute fun way. She also has this HUGE thing for movies, both new and old, which I totally connected with her on, so I see her as being a little bit eccentric and movie-nerdy. Physically, I’m guessing she looks like the girl on the cover – Anna is described in the book as being taller, having long dark brown hair and a blonde streak that goes on her bangs. For Anna, I’d love to cast Sarah Bolger. You may have seen her on Once Upon a Time as Aurora; you may have seen her on the Tudors as Mary Tudor; you may have even seen her a while back in The Spiderwick Chronicles. But I totally see her as Anna!
Etienne St. Clair – Oh St. Clair.. be still my pattering heart! St. Clair (sorry, he’ll never be Etienne to me!) is truly a great book love of mine and therefore there is no actor who can do him any justice. But since the point of this is to cast who we think would be able to do him justice, here goes:  I’m gonna actually steal from Tee, who cast Max Irons as St. Clair. While he’s not EXACTLY as I pictured him, I think he could be a good substitute.
Of course, I could always cast Peeta Josh Hutcherson… 😉
Check out who my fellow Casting Call buds have picked for their cast!
Maggie & Dixie @ Gone Pecan          Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks  

            Tee @ Ya Crush            Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

And now for some exciting news! We’ve all had so much fun with this new feature that we want to open it up to you and invite you to join in! Just like other memes we will have a place for you to sign up so others can visit your Casting Call, as well as a list of all the different books we’re casting so you can plan ahead!
I’ll be posting updates about this new meme on Twitter, so if you follow me keep an eye out for them. If you don’t, what are you waiting for?!
12 thoughts on “Casting Call: Anna and the French Kiss”

  1. I adore your choices! I actually haven’t seen anything that Sarah Bolger is in, but she looks like a perfect Anna! Oh, cast Peeta!!! Hahah. He can pull off British, right?

    Like

    1. Thanks! I only recently saw Sarah Bolger in Once Upon a Time but she was pretty great. I know I’ve seen the Spiderwick Chronicles, but she was really younger in that movie. And while I think Josh Hutcherson COULD pull off a British accent – hey, I don’t care if I’m grasping for straws – I don’t know if I want him as anything else but Peeta. 🙂

      Like

  2. Ooh, we considered Josh for a split second too (short & cute, hurrah!), but we couldn’t picture him as anything but Peeta at the moment… Love your picks. Max Irons is adorable! If only the book were actually in production!

    Like

  3. great choices, they both embody the characters. i totoally thought of josh, too, bc he’d be perfect, but his lack of an accent threw me off. get that boy to voice lessons, stat!

    Like

  4. You’re back on wordpress! I like commenting on wordpress blogs more than blogger blogs, because I think it is easier, and prettier.

    I love Anna and the French Kiss. Such an amazing book, and I totally agree, Anna felt like a long lost BFF.

    I have never seen Sarah Bolger act, but I could picture her as Anna.

    Max Irons doesn’t exactly look like I pictured St. Clair (it’s hard for me to think of him as Etienne, too), but I think he could play the part, well.

    Awesome that you are opening up Casting Call to everyone. Fun, fun!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

