Gotta Get Down on Friday

TGIF at GReads!: Gotta read ’em all!

I’ve I don’t really participate in this particular meme very often but a) needed something to post today and b) I’m having some issues with this very issue!

Today’s question is: How do you determine what book you’ll read next?

Well, here is my formula for determining what I’ll read next:

First, I look at the time of the year. Is it summer? Perhaps I’ll read that light, easy read. Is it Halloween-time? Ooh, a scary book! Different times of the year call for different reads.

Then, I’ll look at what books have deadlines. Is this one due back at the library and I can’t renew it? It gets shoved to the top of the list. Can I renew this book at the library at the very last minute and get another 3 weeks on it? Yes? Then it’s not a priority read. Does this one need to be returned to someone? Okay, you get to go right after the library book that can’t be renewed.

I then gaze fondly at the books I spent money on and give them a little wave before I dive into library books, borrowed books, and ARCs/Blog Tour books.

Once I finish my library books, I return them and pay the late fee because let’s face it: I’m always late returning books. Then I try to make it through whatever other deadline books, while staring fondly at my new stack of books that I checked out at the library because let’s face it: I can’t enter a library without exiting with at least 5 new books.

I then will tell myself “Stop checking out books! Stop buying new ones! READ WHAT YOU HAVE FIRST!”

And then I throw all of these things out the window and pick up whatever book is pretty. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “TGIF at GReads!: Gotta read ’em all!”

  1. I am very disciplined when it comes to going to the library… I try to only get 2 or 3 books at a time, so I will actually finish them. And I completely ignore the books I own that I have not read because I’m guessing that I will never read most of them. I should probably stop buying books entirely!

    Like

  2. Haha I love it! I do the same thing 🙂 And I was so bad going back to the library!! I thought two books + audiobook would be safe……. but then two hold books became available and I can’t say no.
    I agree! There are certain books for certain times of the year. But then again, I didn’t read The Summer I Turned Pretty and now it’s almost September. Sigh.

    Like

  3. Hahaha great response! Your scientific book choosing method sounds eerily similar to mine. There are actually some books I’ve been waiting to read until the fall so I completely understand your desire to pair books to the season.
    Hope your current read is good and pretty 🙂
    Love the new blog format btw!

    Like

  4. Oh man. I’m afraid to borrow books from the library. I was almost sent to collections because of late fees. Could you imagine that? Bad credit because of library books. Geez!

    I agree with you though about the seasons. Different seasons call for different types of books. Books with free spirits, road trips, and romantic flings are to be read in the summer. Shorter books are to be read in the summer too– poolside/beachside reads!
    The colder months call for more substantial tomes. Something that you’re encouraged to curl up under blankets or near the fireplace with. To drink hot tea or cocoa with. Something to bide you’re time while there are snowstorms outside!

    There are certain books I associate with certain seasons. Like Harry Potter often goes hand in hand with Fall. So, no doubt when the leaves start to change colors and the temperature starts to drop, I’ll feel the urge to pick up another Harry Potter book to re-read 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

