To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I’ve never been one of THOSE people who is the ideal book person. You know, the kind who never dog-ears pages, never spills anything on books, never starts another book before finishing one. That’s probably why I never borrow books; you never know how they may return!

Today’s Top Ten are my Top Ten Bookish Confessions:

I am our library’s biggest monetary donor This week’s donation? $9.10 (in late fees)

If I run late for work, 90% of the time it’s because  I was reading

At any given time, I’m reading at least 3 books

I have read while doing step aerobics

Books read in the tub almost always get a bath of their own

My copies of the Twilight series are more commonly known as “precioussssss” in my house

I’m a book hugger

I’ve never read about 70% of the books on my shelves

Most times, I get books because of their covers

I never finished “The Help,” “The Night Circus,” “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” or “The Magicians” – I have a real problem with reading “popular” books that “everyone is talking about.”

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Confessions”

  1. Love the confessions!
    I actually really enjoyed The Help, but it took me a long time to get through! I raced through Dragon Tattoo, but that was before it was getting really popular. You know, sometimes I like to NOT like things just because they’re popular. I don’t know… rebellious streak in me?
    I’m a book hugger too!! The ones that I finish and I love… I just can’t help but hug.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t finish The Night Circus either but I don’t know if that is because I hate clowns and want nothing to do with anything related to them or I wasn’t into the book. ~Maggie

    Like

  3. I have refused to read The Help because too many people told me it was good (I know, that doesn’t make sense, but I don’t really trust a book when EVERYONE likes it). Also, I read something about how it portrays the African-American woman’s experience through the mediated view of a white woman (in the story, I don’t know about the author’s race) and I am not really on board with that….

    Like

  4. I love reading everyone’s bookish confessions. It makes me feel a little better about my own bookish confessions. Anyways, I’m often reading more than one book, too. I don’t have a hard time with it, and I never get confused. But I am usually reading books that are very different from each other.

    If I buy a book, a huge part of my decision is based on the cover, too. If it is going to sit on my shelf, I want it to have a pretty cover.

    I bet your library loves you! As long as you pay your fines, anyways. Hehe. I work in a library (I’m there five days a week) and I still manage to wrack of fines.

    Like

  5. I hear you about being wary about “popular” reads. And I’m impressed with your reading while doing step aerobics skills. Wow!
    Juggling books is a new thing for me, but now I can’t imagine not reading more than one book at a time. It’s a comfort factor I think.
    I always have guilt over late library books and fees. I think because of growing up with a librarian mom. I owe late fees now in fact.
    And I hear you about choosing books by their covers- covers do matter!
    Great confessions 🙂

    Like

  6. Dude talk to me about the step aerobics…sometimes I almost fall off the treadmill from reading – seriously I did this two weeks ago.

    I am also a book hugger :] and though I finished the books you mentioned I have a hard time reading books that everyone is talking about too. I only read The Hunger Games because some of the kids I was tutoring were writing papers on it..so glad I did though because I really enjoyed it!

    Like

  7. I couldn’t finish The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo either! And I haven’t even attempted the other ones you mentioned. It’s good to know I’m not the only one. And I hug books too! I feel it’s a perfectly normal. I also throw them (not the ones I hug, of course).

    Like

  8. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like
    to shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

