Paranormal, Young Adult

I certainly don’t fear the reaper! (not when he’s this sexy)

Inbetween by Tara Fuller

The Skinny: Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul. (taken from Goodreads because I couldn’t think of a good summary)

BFF?: Emma was a great character to play off of Finn’s character, she was sweet, had a good personality, was a good daughter/friend/etc. But she was a little lacking in the development area. In other words, she was a little dull. She didn’t rock my world in BFF terms. That’s not to say she couldn’t; she just didn’t. Something I would have liked to see more of would have been her outside of her house, at school, interacting with people. Maybe her personality would have shone more had she not interacted with only 3-4 people the entire book. While I doubt as is Emma and I would be BFFs, she’d be a great English class friend.

Runner-up BFF: Cash is Emma’s best friend and wow. I really liked him a lot! He was a fantastic secondary character who had such an awesome personality – despite kind of being a man-whore – and was a fierce friend to Emma. They had this weird, flirty protective overly-worried vibe going on between them that just worked. It sort of reminded me of Bella and Jacob’s friendship, minus the “I am madly in love with you and oh by the way I’m a stinky werewolf” thing Jacob had going on.

Readability: There are alternating narrators in the book, going back and forth between Finn and Emma. I can’t really decide which voice I enjoyed more; probably Finn’s because he was a little edgier than Emma, but Emma had a great unique voice of her own. Either way, it was a great read.

Crush Level: 6
Finn reminded me of Edward Cullen oh so much… but in a good way. In the “I love you but I know I can’t have you but I want you to be safe but I’m not supposed to interfere” kind of way. And while Finn did have the creepy Edward “I’m watching you” thing going on, he was super respectful of Emma while he was doing it. Not that Edward wasn’t… but you know. Something I really loved about Finn was that we got to see him for who he is. He’s not this mysterious guy with an even more mysterious past. We learn about his fears, his wants, his frustrations. While he’s a paranormal being, he’s totally human. And pretty darn sexy at that!

Bonus Points:
Sexy Times

Y’all, Tara Fuller knows how to write some sexy times. I read Inbetween at work and there were a few points where I’m sure I was blushing from reading this at work! So you KNOW it’s good!

Reapers

There’s something super mysterious about the whole reaper thing. Taking souls to Heaven or Hell is great on its own, but when we get to see what the reapers feel, how they react, it makes it all the more interesting.

Commencement Speech: I feel like Tara Fuller is one of those new authors that I’m a huge cheerleader for! She really has some great stuff so far and I think has amazing potential for even more! All that being said, let’s chat about the book. Although Inbetween is the first book in a series, I really feel like it started off with a bang. There’s not TONS of action, but there are plenty of suspenseful actiony scenes to keep you involved and invigorated throughout the book. But I don’t think that’s the point of this book, so if you’re looking for something that’ll keep you on your toes, this may not be for you. But if you’re looking for some swoony romance, some suspense and revenge, and an intense love, then you’ll definitely find all those things (and more!) in Inbetween.

Yearbook Quote: “I always knew there was something wrong with you. Now turn around so I don’t ruin you for other men.”

I love Cash! 🙂

Superlatives – Most likely to look forward to whoever is gonna take your soul

Like this post? You may like these too:

      

5 thoughts on “I certainly don’t fear the reaper! (not when he’s this sexy)”

  1. I sometimes have a hard time with books in the paranormal genre but I do love me some sexy reapers, so I think I’m going to have to give this one a shot! Also, the picture of Ray Wise and Bret Harrison from Reaper is full of win 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

