Contemporary, Young Adult

Give me one… moment in time…

One Moment by Kristina McBride

The Skinny: Maggie was there when Joey jumped, but she doesn’t remember. Her last moments with her boyfriend before his accidental death are gone, repressed from the sheer shock. Little by little she begins to piece back what really happened to her beloved boyfriend. But along the way she begins to see Joey isn’t all that she thought and realizes that maybe she never really knew the boy she loved.

BFF?: Maggie was, to me, the kind of girl that you want to tell “get a clue” and roll your eyes at for her naivete. But at the same time, you want to hug her, to hold her hand and just be her friend. As an adult, it was easy for me to judge Maggie for this idolatry she has for Joey and think that she’s completely weak when it comes to him. But then I remember: I was 17 once upon a time and sadly, I did this too. What I loved most about Maggie is that although she did have this unhealthy worship of her boyfriend, it didn’t prohibit her from accepting what he did. I thought she showed tremendous growth towards the end of the book and was surprised at the grace with which she accepted everything. Overall, Maggie would be a great BFF, post-Joey.

Readability: I was a little hesitant about this one, but it actually read very well. I was immediately caught up in it and all the things that were going on. There were flashbacks, but the weren’t blatant. Maggie eased us into them, as if she were remembering them to build her story on. One thing that did bug me a TINY bit was some of the flowery prose – I’m all about it, but there were times when I thought it was a tad bit too much. But only a tad!

Crush Level #1: -4526
I really really hated Joey… like from the very beginning when he “encouraged” Maggie to go jump off the cliff with him, despite her being petrified. I know he had some sweet moments, but I saw right through them and… ugh don’t even get me started on him.

Crush Level #2: 6
Adam, the other guy in the book, was so sweet, albeit a little broody. You know how much I love a good BGFF and Adam was one wonderful BGFF! Although he did go a little MIA at times, he truly cared for Maggie and wanted nothing more to protect her. But not in a “stand behind me fair maiden while I fight the dragon with my blazing sword!” kind of way… in a “I don’t want you to get hurt any more than you probably already will so I’m gonna be the good guy and take one for the team even if you hate me for it” kind of way. You know… the BGFF way!

Bonus Points:
Swimming Hole

When I was in high school I’m pretty sure there was not a secret swimming hole with a cliff for jumping off of and having a good time at. And if there was I was most definitely not invited to join in. I loved that Maggie and her friends had this spot that they went to and had a good time. Except for when one of them died. That was not so fun.

Best Friends

Although the group kind of disperses in One Moment, Maggie and her group of friends have been BFFs since they were young. I never had this kind of group of friends, thanks to moving around all the time as a kid, so I loved getting to live vicariously through their friendship and seeing the different friend dynamics.

Super Romantic First Date

Although Joey was a tool, especially after you found out the truth about this date, he did take Maggie on a super sweet first date, complete with a grassy field, a meteor shower, snuggly make-out times in the back of a truck, and donuts. Seriously, if a guy took me on this date, I’d marry him. Especially if there were donuts.

Commencement Speech: I’m not really sure what I was expecting going into One Moment, but I was pleasantly surprised at just how much I enjoyed it! I think I was expecting Maggie to find out something horrific about her dead boyfriend and her world to be rocked, but it wasn’t really like that. What I found was that this wasn’t really a story about finding the truth as it was about personal growth, about realizing putting a guy on a pedestal isn’t always right, about finding who you are without another person. Maggie undergoes this horrible trauma and we’re sad for her, but I think what I really, truly loved about this story is seeing myself in Maggie’s shoes. I saw a girl who idolized a boy, who subconsciously ignored the obvious signs that said what kind of guy he was, because she was so in love with him. And then I saw a girl who grows up, who suffers a shock that opens her eyes and allows herself to fully see this person she once idolized. It’s a hard thing to watch, even harder to know you’ve been that girl. But I love that the book wasn’t negative or depressing; I found it to be hopeful, inspiring, that although yes, we’ve all been “that girl” at some point in our lives, we all eventually open our eyes.

Yearbook Quote: “Adam pressed his hand to his face. Sighed. “Right. It’s just that… He died. And I’m so freaking pissed off, I swear I’d punch him in the face if he were standing right here.”

(Yeah, I would too)

Superlatives – Best way to NOT spend your summer

Like this post? You may like these too:

       

6 thoughts on “Give me one… moment in time…”

    1. Same! I sometimes wish I had kept friends from my school years, but sadly did not. Luckily I have some great ones I’ve made as an adult! And I suppose it’s nice to know that none of my current friends knew me back when I was a geeky, awkward kid. 🙂

      Like

  1. Haha I hated Joey too! Right off the bat because I’m afraid of heights too, I would never jump into that swimming hole, and my boyfriend would never make me!! But I think what I really liked about it was that I really related to Maggie. I did way too much putting boys up on pedestals when I was a teenager and I really liked seeing her grow out of that and really mature some. Great review 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! I think I did it more in college/early 20s than I did in high school. Mostly because in high school I was still scared of boys and just crushed hard from afar!

      Like

    1. It’s really a great read! I wasn’t sure going in, but had the NetGalley download and thought I’d give it a chance. I was pleasantly surprised! I think you’ll enjoy it, especially if you like contemporary books!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

