Dystopian, Young Adult

[insert witty title about Insurgent]

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

The Skinny: Tris’ world is shaken from the war. Her friends and family are dead. Her faction is divided. And as a Divergent, she is hunted.

(I really tried to come up with a summary, but everything I wrote sounded so wrong. Just trust me on this: Insurgent is awesome. That’s all you really need to know.)

BFF?: If I didn’t already love Tris, I most definitely would love her even more now! Watching Tris’ transformation in Insurgent is so gut-wrenching. She’s damaged now, her parents both gone, blood on her hands from killing her friend… I love how she wrestles with the thought that it should have been her. That she should be dead like them. While in Divergent we see this side of Tris that is hard, sort of cold and uncaring that wars with her former Abnegation self, in Insurgent we see another side of her, the Erudite side. Tris truly becomes Divergent, taking on other traits of the different factions.

Readability: Like Divergent, this one read just as fast, but it wasn’t non-stop action or events. There was some scenes where we get inside Tris’ head, get to see her somewhat crazed thoughts. While these seem like they should have been slower scenes, they really weren’t. Overall it was a fantastic, thought-provoking read.

Crush Level: 8
Oh Four… how I love thee! While I think Tobias is a totally lame name, I love how hot you are so I can overlook that. We get to see a little more of Four, a little more of his no-nonsense personality, a little more of how his past has made him the man he is today. There are a few moments when he gets kind of douchey, but whatever… he’s freakin Four. He’s hot!

Bonus Points:
Secrets and Hidden Agendas

It just wouldn’t be a dystopia without these things! Everyone has secrets, everyone has a hidden agenda… even the people you seem to trust have them!

Commencement Speech: First of all, I’m gonna need my local library to start being better about getting new titles in quicker. There’s no excuse for having to wait almost a MONTH for this book to come to the library!

That aside, I just need to get this out: I FREAKIN LOVE THIS SERIES! Like any good dystopian series, Insurgent (the second book in the series) takes us a level deeper into the society, pointing out the layers upon layers of corruption that its citizens are so intertwined with that you don’t know who is good and who is bad – or if “good” and “bad” even exist. Insurgent delivers tons of twists and turns, surprising characters that shock you with their behavior. But best of all is Tris’ inner turmoil, her confusion and pain over losing her parents and killing Will. So often characters kill and think nothing of it, their focus is on other goals. I loved that Roth showed the consequences of war and killing in Tris’ behavior.

Also, the ending? OMG VERONICA ROTH IS TRYING TO KILL ME!

Yearbook Quote: “I think we cry to release the animal parts of us without losing our humanity. Because inside me as a bieast that snarls, and growls, and strains toward freedom, toward Tobas, and, above all, toward life. And as hard as I try, I cannot kill it.”

Superlatives – Most likely trash-talk you behind your back

Like this post? You may like these too:

      

5 thoughts on “[insert witty title about Insurgent]”

  1. I don’t know what is wrong with me, but I just couldn’t get into Insurgent like I did Divergent. Tris drove me crazy with all her moping about (I know it’s justified moping, but it didn’t feel like how I thought that character would handle grief/stress.)

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

