Mythology, Young Adult

Ever thine, ever mine, everneath

Everneath by Brodie Ashton

The Skinny: Everyone thought Nikki ran away. Little did they know that she got sucked into the Everneath and had spent the last 6 months tied to an immortal. Now returned, Nikki has 6 months before the Everneath takes her again, this time permanently. Nikki’s plan is to reconnect with her old boyfriend, the one thing that gave her hope while in the Everneath, but there’s a small problem: the immortal she was tied to below, Cole. Smoldering and dangerous, Cole wants to return to the Everneath with Nikki as his queen and he’ll do anything to get what he wants. Nikki’s time is short and she must find a way to choose between Cole or an eternity of suffering… or find a way to cheat fate.

BFF?: I sort of nothinged Nikki. I didn’t like her, I didn’t hate her, she was just there. I think before the Everneath she could’ve been fun, like really fun and a great BFF. But after the Everneath, she was just this hollow shell who sort of floated around for a while. Which I guess is to be expected. I did like that she was pretty adamant about not giving into Cole and eventually began to fight her fate. The girl’s got a backbone! I think seeing her transition from this fun, sort of bubbly sweet girl into this darker, sort of crazed, knits in the corner kind of girl was interesting, and I definitely liked the development there. But overall I just didn’t feel a lot of warm fuzzy kindred spirit feelings towards her.

Readability: Nikki’s voice was pretty clear and her desperation and despair were spot on. So there’s that. The back and forth between times wasn’t “confusing” but it did sort of send my reading focus every which way.

Here is where I did my last save before WordPress decided to delete everything else… so sorry, it’s not going to be my best review since I’m going to have to retype everything. Blerg.

Crush Level: 2
I was not feeling either of the love interests in this book. I had high hopes for Cole, but he turned out to be kind of douchy/creepy with a good heart (barf). Then there was Jack, who I’d kind of hoped would turn out to be a bad ex so Nikki would end up with Cole, but he turned out to be this super sweet puppy dog kind of guy who never gave up on loving Nikki (double barf). I’m sure others will disagree with me, and that’s fine, but Cole and Jack just didn’t do it for me.

Bonus Points:
Persephone Myth

The Persephone myth has been redone a lot, but I think it’s because it’s a pretty complex one that has tons of room for interpretation. I loved how Ashton took this one and gave it such a unique twist.

Knitting

It’s never really explained WHY Nikki knows how to knit (or at least I don’t think it is), but I think it’s cool that she does. Like a crazy person she sits next to the water fountain at school and knits. Which is exactly how knitting should be done… like a crazy person.

Alternating Time Space Continuum

I really just wanted to use the phrase time space continuum. I loved the flashback scenes in this book and how the “titles” were different countdowns to Nikki’s time before she went into the Everneath and how long she had until she went back. It gave me a good chance to see Nikki’s development (and undevelopment) as a character.

Commencement Speech: I’m most aggravated that WordPress deleted this… Overall I didn’t feel Everneath was my cup of tea. I don’t know if it was just the time when I was reading it or if it didn’t click for me… but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to. There were tons of great things going on, the characters were amazingly developed, plot was spot-on and interesting… I just didn’t connect with it. I really wanted to though because I feel like it’s a book I normally would love. I think my problem was that I went in expecting one thing and was presented with something completely different and it just didn’t click for me. I wanted it to be a hot, tingly, “will-they-won’t-they” book and it what I found was that it was about redemption, about realizing your mistakes and making amends. And even though it didn’t wow me like I wanted it to, I definitely want to stay involved with this series.

Yearbook Quote: “He leaned forward and said, “Tell me, friend. Is there more for us?” I looked down at my feet. “There’s everything for us.”

Superlatives – Most likely to suck your soooouuullll (said like Fezzik)

Like this post? You may like these too:

      

4 thoughts on “Ever thine, ever mine, everneath”

  1. I’ve heard a lot about this book, but I haven’t really felt pushed to check it out myself. I might get to it eventually, but I don’t think I’m going to rush out and get it. Though when I do read it, I’m sure I’ll be on Team Cole.

    Like

  2. Oh well then I’m kind of glad I didn’t get this! I think I saw it when I was looking for all my schnazzy Kindle books and was mildly interested, but wasn’t quite sure. Maybe I made the right decision!

    Like

  3. Awww, I really liked Everneath, but I get what you are saying here and it’s definitely not a book everyone will love or like, but at least you are fair in what you say, ya know?

    Also, I thought Cole sucked. I was much more of a Jack fan, myself.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Grown-Up YA

Comments make me happy, as do you!

