Retro Reads

Retro Reads Thursday: Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married

I’ve been waiting for the PERFECT Thursday to talk about my all time, favorite, never gonna be topped book ever ever ever EVER! AND TODAY IS THE DAY!

But lemme back up…

I transferred to a new school while in college my junior year. Since I was an upperclassman I lived in an apartment style dorm called Rose Towers. I’d heard good things about it so I was really excited to get to live in an apartment.

Long story short, I hated living there. It was the worst experience ever. So when I heard that they were blowing the building up imploding it, I knew I had to get front row seats for that. They blew the building up imploded it yesterday, July 4.

AND IT WAS THE COOLEST THING I’VE EVER SEEN!

Afterwards though, I felt a little sad… like here was this place I called home for a year and in less than 10 seconds it was gone. So I started thinking of good memories I’d had there and here’s what I came up with:

  1. I was living in Rose Towers when I met the BGFF
  2. I turned 21 while living in Rose Towers
  3. I discovered Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married

Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married is the story of Lucy (obvs) and her life. The back cover will lead you to believe that it’s a tale of Lucy trying to find a husband after being told by a fortune teller that she’ll get married in 18 months… but really, it’s SO much more than that.

Lucy does date a few guys in this book, and so that’s fun, but what I found really touching and hitting close to home was Lucy’s personal self (wow that’s redundant). She’s estranged from her mother, idolizes her father, has terrible self-esteem, has terrible taste in men, goes through bouts of depression, and thinks everything is fine.

But then she gets a wake up call. Her mother leaves her father for another man, Lucy realizes her father is a complete drunk as she tries to care for him, she realizes she’s been dating wastrel men who have similar drinking problems like her father… Although I really don’t have any of the parent/dating issues Lucy does, I found so much understanding in her – like explanations of things I felt or similar experiences that I found solace in seeing someone else dealing with.

And then there’s the love interest… the ultimate BGFF, Daniel. I can’t tell you HOW many times I’ve read the last 10 pages just to experience Lucy and Daniel getting together all over again.

I probably could go on and on about this book, telling you about my favorite scenes or quotes, but I won’t… I’ll let you discover them for yourself!

7 thoughts on “Retro Reads Thursday: Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

