Dystopian, Young Adult

Would you like a treatment?

Starters by Lissa Price

The Skinny: After the Spore Wars which took out the majority of the population, all that is left are Starters and Enders. Unclaimed minors wander the streets, squatting in different abandoned residences and scraping by. Callie is one of those unclaimed minors and she, along with her young brother, must try to survive. But when an offer to become a donor for a company called Prime Destinations becomes available, Callie must do what is in the best interest for her brother, despite her objections to the company. Prime Destinations rents out the bodies of Starters to Enders, giving them the opportunity to “become young.” The requirements are simple: donate your body 3 times and receive a huge payout. But when Callie wakes up in the middle of her 3rd time with a gun in her hand, she knows something has gone wrong.

BFF?: Callie was awesome. Although she had a pretty crappy life and very little luxuries, she was still a girl you could try on clothes with and gossip about makeup, boys, and girls you hate. I loved the fact that when she was living in the wealthy world of her renter, she just kinda went with it. Sure there were times when she was overwhelmed by the wealth, but for the most part she embraced it. I prefer those kinds of characters over ones who say “oh, fancy clothes? Pshh, give me my ratty jeans and t shirt.” All that aside, Callie knew what was what. She knew what it took to save her brother and wasn’t hesitant to do it. Was she afraid? Of course she was. But, like any true older sibling, she knew she had to do it, regardless of her feelings. I have mad admiration for that trait and really loved her because of it. BFF? HELLS YES!

Readability: Callie’s voice was really easy and fresh. I really felt like she was a teenager who had experienced a lot and so her reactions to things were pretty believable. The dialogue and plot flowed really nicely and I found myself getting lost in the futuristic world.

Crush Level: 5
Blake was sweet. I loved how nice he was to Callie, how cute their dates were… but honestly, something about him just didn’t click for me. Like I wasn’t 100% sure about him. Read this. You’ll see why.

Bonus Points:
Cinderella

So the book isn’t a retelling of Cinderella, but there are a lot of references to the story that usually made me smile. It was pretty easy to grasp the comparison too based on the plot (poor duckling gets huge makeover and wins the boy).

Xperience

So I’m guessing Xperience was like a movie theater or something, but more like the kind where everything’s more real – moving seats, surround sound, climate changes. I watched Harry Potter and TDH2 like this – we had moving seats that leaned and rumbled to the movie. It was PHENOMENAL.

Makeover

Do y’all remember that scene in Casper when they go through the Up and At Em machine? There was a scene kind of like that in Starters when Callie is getting her donor makeover.

Slow Grasp on Shocker

So every time I read a review of Starters the reviewer mentioned this cring-worthy, gasp of a shocker. Which made me crazy interested in reading this one. Finished the book… didn’t really get the shocker. Thought maybe everyone was over-exaggerating. Later that night, like at 10:45, while I was laying in bed… I got the shocker. Let’s just say I was more than mildly disturbed.

Commencement Speech: The premise of this book was a little out there for me, despite my mad love of Dollhouse, but I wanted to give it a chance (mostly for that shocker). So glad I did! Yeah, it is a crazy premise, but there was so many interesting things going on in this futuristic world that the premise wasn’t all that crazy to get into. Lying, political scandals, evil corporations… all things we’re familiar with that pretty much transcend all times. I loved the mystery that unfolded and how Callie was so immersed into this plot and she had no clue why! Very much looking forward to the sequel and what twists it’ll bring!

Yearbook Quote: “Did Cinderella ever consider fessing up to the prince, that night she was enjoying herself in the fancy ball gown? Did she even think of telling him, oh, by the way, Prince, the coach isn’t mine, I’m really a filthy little barefoot servant on borrowed time? No. She took her moment. And then went quietly away after midnight.”

Superlatives – Best use of a body

Like this post? You may like these too:

      

5 thoughts on “Would you like a treatment?”

  1. I like your Cinderella comparisons – I’ll have to read Starters again to catch that. And yes- that ending! So disturbing, but it’s a fun and thrilling book too. Awesome review & graphics as always 🙂

    Like

  2. I KNOW RIGHT! Granted, I read this one before a lot of the reviews rolled in so I had no idea about the twist, then when it happened my jaw dropped.

    Also I would be very much the person who enjoys their fancy new frocks, not the type who is like, yes please give me my disgusting jeans and t-shirt back.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

