To Do Lists

Recommend A… Book that made you emotional

I’m always looking for books to recommend, whether they’re for different moods or wants, maybe different time frames or settings… Luckily, Chick Loves Lit has created the PERFECT meme for this! Each week she asks us to recommend a different book that features a different topic.

This week is recommend a book that made you emotional.

I’ve NEVER been an emotional reader until I started reading YA lit. Maybe because the books I used to read weren’t very emotional reads. But ever since I started reading this genre I’ve become a basket case. And not just a little tear here and there. I’m talking bawling. Uncontrollable crying over and over and over. It’s a little ridiculous.

There are two books in particular that made me crazy emotional:

The Sky is Everywhere – Normally I can handle the whole “someone died and now I’m getting my life back together” plot books have. This one I could not. Lennie’s poetry, which appeared on just about every chapter, kept me crying at every chapter. It was just so beautiful, so full of loss and emotions that I honestly had no clue how to handle. I’ve never loss like that, but through the poetry I felt like I had loss, like my own sister had died.

The Book Thief (audiobook) – I checked this one out of the library when I was driving between cities (bout an hour each way) for work. While I knew what was coming, I knew that people died, it didn’t stop me from crying. And I don’t mean that single tear running down your face. I’m talking crying “Oh God no!” when the first bomb hit. Eyes tearing up so much that you can’t see. Uncontrollable sobbing that almost requires pulling over to the side of the road until you can get a hold of yourself. And just when you think it’s over… when you think “okay, I’m calm and in control” there’s another wave of emotions lurking around the bend. Yeah… that’s how The Book Thief was. I’m literally getting teary just typing this!

So yeah… I seriously love this meme and am so happy it was started! Looking forward to joining in more often!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Recommend A… Book that made you emotional”

  1. I’m really enjoying this meme too! I wasnt in the right mood for sad though you are so right about wonderful YA books like the Book Thief! So i went with angry 🙂

    Like

  2. Both of these books are on my TBR. Sometimes it’s so hard to deal with emotional books, but they are always worth it in the end! Recommend A… is such a great feature to have on my blog; I’m so happy Shanyn started it!

    Like

  3. I haven’t read either of these and I’m ashamed to admit it! I have The Sky is Everywhere and as a contemporary fan I really should read it – but the emotional part has held me back because I want to make sure I’m in the right frame of mind. One of these days…

    Thanks for participating Candice 🙂

    Like

    1. Seriously, I definitely wouldn’t try tackling The Sky is Everywhere if you’re in a funk or had a bad day… I’d recommend picking it up on just an average day. Because you really do have to be in the right frame of mind! Hopefully you can get to it soon! 🙂

      Like

  4. Great recs, Candice. There certainly are a lot of YA books that tug at emotions. The Sky is Everywhere is a good one, and I’ve been meaning to read or listen to The Book Thief for forever.

    Like

  5. I completely know what you mean about The Book Thief. I read it, but I think the audiobook probably would have been even more intense. I’ll have to check out The Sky is Everywhere, since I just love to cry so much apparently 🙂

    Like

  6. Damn, I need to read The Book Thief so badly!! I have a gorgeous hardcover that I got for like $7 and I am so scared to read it because I am an ugly crier. I’m such a wimp.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

