Young Adult

Armchair BEA Question of the Day!

So I’ve been “participating” in Armchair BEA this week – I use the term participating pretty loosely in that I haven’t been doing the suggested posts or attending the Twitter parties. But I have been enjoying all the posts and pictures and everything else that’s been going on this week!

However, I really got inspired by today’s topic, The Future of Blogging, and really wanted to participate in today’s post.

Today’s post topic is: What did you always want to know about blogging but were afraid to ask?

Of course, my first thought for a question was “Does my blog actually suck or am I deluding myself into thinking it rocks?” But that just seemed silly!

After giving it some thought, my question is this: What are your thoughts, my fellow bloggy friends, on taking blogging and networking from behind the computer and into the real world?

A while ago, G over at GReads! asked where I would pick to have a blogger retreat… at first I thought it was just a fun topic, but over this week I’ve seen several of my bloggy friends talking about how they met so and so at BEA and I can’t help but think “how fun would a bloggers get together be?!” 🙂

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA Question of the Day!”

  1. Ummm…this needs to happen! I want to meet my bloggy friends! It sounds like an awesome good time.

    I guess, for me, the idea of meeting my bloggy friends sounds great because I’m an adult and have the time/means to travel to do so. I also work “in the industry” so a conference would have personal and professional interest. But, let’s be honest, it’s more about the personal interest! I, too, am so jealous of the bloggers who get to travel to BEA and ALA and all that good stuff.

    Like

    1. I know, right? That bloggers retreat is sounding better and better! 🙂

      I think the conferences are awesome ways for us as bloggers (and those of us who are in the industry) to expand our social groups and network with amazing people. I really want to start attending these, but since a lot of them are harder for me to attend, I think having smaller events available would be fantastic!

      Like

  2. Ooh, a blogging retreat does sound so fun! I think the best place to start with networking beyond the computer is to find local bloggers near you. Getting together with those who live nearby is usually much easier and smaller. That’s a good starting point for further interactions.

    Like

    1. Totally agree! I’d love to get together and network with bloggers in my area. While it would be great to get together with ALL the bloggers I interact with, feasibility doesn’t always allow for that! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

    1. That would be awesome! I’ve been thinking the same thing all morning… it would be so much fun and I think we’d all get so much out of it. Good luck with your plans and I hope you can pull it off!

      Like

  3. There is a group of us in Colorado that try to get together at bookish events. I find when I try and talk books to my other friends, they think I’m crazy so it’s nice to go hang out with others like me.

    Thanks for the comment love. I LOVE the name of your blog and am a new follower.

    Valerie
    StuckInBooks.com

    Like

  4. I love meeting people who I share interests with, so a blogger meet up would be so much fun for me. Not so sure about the networking thing…I prefer to think of it as creating friendships.

    Like

  5. Candice! I wish you were at BEA! I would have hunted you down (in a not-creepy way, obviously). But I think a retreat would be great. I suck at networking, because I feel like I have to sell myself, and that makes me nervous and awkward. But I can meet up with friends and chat the day away EASY! That I’d do in a heartbeat, wherever it was.

    Like

    1. Augh! I wish I was at BEA too!!! And I’m glad you would’ve hunted me down in a non-creepy way. I would have done the same! 🙂

      There should definitely be some kind of meet up for bloggers… gotta get on planning that!

      Like

  6. Blogger retreat is a cool idea. Anytime you can get a group of like-minded people together it’s bound to generate a lot of enthusiasm and fun. I’m enjoying my visit to your blog.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

