To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday: A Series of Unfortunate Names

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

This week’s TTT is a freebie of sorts and we get a chance to “rewind” to a past week and do a topic that’s already been done. I chose to do the topic from 11/9/10 – Top Ten Unfortunate Character Names!

Names are HUGELY important to me when getting to know a character. I know they shouldn’t be… the character would be just as great/bad with a different name… but sometimes a character’s name makes me cringe and I just can’t get over it. And sometimes their names are just annoying.

Here are my Top Ten Unfortunate Character Names:

Eustace Clarence Scrub – He almost deserved it.

Cricket Bell – Yes, he’s a great guy… but there’s no way I could get over his name being Cricket.

Bitterblue – I have a love/hate relationship with this name. I love it, but would hate for it to be my name.

Prince Greening Grandemalion – I would go by Po too if this was my name!

Albus Severus Potter – I kind of hated this name.

Jem – While I do kind of find this a sexy way of spelling “Jim” (a name I really don’t like to begin with) it is a little off putting when you remember that there’s a cartoon character named Jem.

Puck – Jury is still out on this one.

Azalea (and all of her sisters) – There are so many good A flowers… why pick Azalea? Seriously, would hate this to be my name. Although it’s slightly better than Bramble.

Jessamine – I hate her name almost as much as I hate her.

Helen – I know she’s named after the most beautiful woman in the world, but I think she just sounds like an old lady.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: A Series of Unfortunate Names”

  1. Prince Greening Grandemalion is such a terrible name. Poor Po,

    I actually quite like Bitterblue’s name…although I agree, I wouldn’t want it as my name 😉

    Awesome top ten!

    Like

  2. I picked this topic too 🙂 Totally forgot about Albus Severus! Didn’t like that one either. And I’ve read about Bitterblue… Really don’t like the name! Don’t know if I can survive the book lol

    Like

  3. Why do authors think their honoring characters by mushing names together? I mean, J.K. Rowling is the queen of coming up with great character names, and then she pulls Albus Severus out of the air. What the heck was she thinking? Stephenie Meyers is guilty of it too when she came up with Renesmee. It just makes me think that the authors ran out of ideas.

    Like

  4. Haha, I had an issue with the name Cricket, too… like, ok, maybe as a nickname, but his parents were apparently cracked enough to make his legal name Cricket. And his sister Calliope? What mean parents! Also the name Lola created a stir in my house. My husband kept saying “the boy next door better watch out for that Lola… she looks like a woman and talks like a man.”

    Like

  5. Ahhh I love this list. I agree with Azalea but it was such a funny name thing it didnt feel serious. Cricket killed me because I loved him otherwise.

    The recent name I hated, in a book I kinda hated too… ASPEN in The Selection. Yuck. Not that I am against ski resorts or trees. I do like those. But not sleazy guys.

    Like

  6. HILARIOUS list. “I would go by Po too if this was my name!” — I couldn’t agree with you more. I think “Po” has a lot better chance of meeting Green-whosie-whatsie!

    Like

  7. I love your topic! I do adore the name Cricket though. I would never name my child that but it makes me think of old money rich people….You know, those names that only the rich can have like Kitty, Summerfield, and Skip…things like that. 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

