Fantasy, Young Adult

Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads.

Hourglass by Myra McIntire

The Skinny: Emerson sees… not quite ghosts, but not physical people either. After stints in an asylum and major drugs, she’s cast off her hopes of being normal and thrown those all away, giving up and accepting what she sees. But in a last attempt to help her, Emerson’s brother hires Michael, a consultant from an organization known simply as the Hourglass. Michael is tall, dark, and handsome… and keeping a secret. But when Emerson begins snooping, poking around in Michael’s business, she finds that the Hourglass isn’t all that it seems.

BFF?: I kind of liked Emerson, but there were some times when I thought “okay, you’re not a teenager.” Mostly because there were some moments when she said things that reminded me of a grandmother. All that aside, I thought she was fun. While she was a little “I don’t like pretty clothes” on occasions, I thought she had a fun personality and really felt things. She also was kind of ballsy when it came to handling the Hourglass stuff – not to mention she knows karate! I’d totally be her BFF… especially since, other than her pal Lily, she doesn’t have any!

Readability: Easy, breezy read… you’d think themes like time traveling would be waaaaay over your head, but honestly, this put complicated ideas into pretty simplistic explanations. I didn’t feel lost in the slightest bit!

Crush Level: 6
Aside from the blatant machoisms, Michael is pretty dreamy. But not like high school dreamy… I’m talking romance novel dreamy. I know this says a lot about me, but I sort of love your standard romance novel man – you know, the kind who is aggressive, over-protective, growls in frustration… Michael did this aplenty! Of course, I totally loved that Emerson called him on these things, so I think his reactions to her made him even more dreamy!

Bonus Points:
Time Travel

I’ve loved time travel since I was little… I mean, who DOESN’T want to jump into your Delorean and zip off back to the future? Of course, I don’t really want to get plutonium from Libyan terrorists. And I don’t have a flux capacitor. And I don’t have anything to produce the 1.21 gigawatts it needs. Luckily… Emerson and pals can produce their OWN means of time travel… but it doesn’t make for a good 1985 movie.

“Ghosts”

Emerson seems some pretty neat characters… from hoop-skirted Southern belles to a 3 piece jazz ensemble, complete with piano. Even cooler? If they’re getting on her nerves, all she has to do is touch them and POP! (goes my heart!) they’re gone!

Mysterious Secret Organizations

Is there anything better than a secret organization? Oh wait… yes. A MYSTERIOUS secret organization! What’s cool about the Hourglass is that it isn’t magic or whatever… it’s science. It’s special abilities. It’s kind of sci-fi ish, heavy on the sci!

The Cover

I love this cover!!!!!!! That is all.

Commencement Speech: This is my second time around reading Hourglass (I’m gearing up for Timepiece!) and I must say… I think I liked it better this time! Hourglass wasn’t quite what I was expecting, and for that I’m really glad. I liked that it took me in a completely different direction and wasn’t so much a ghost book as it was a science-fictionesque book. I loved the characters, how they were pretty developed for what they were. That being said… I would have liked to see more development of Lily, Emerson’s best friend, and Michael. They didn’t fall flat or anything… I just would’ve liked to see more development. I think they’re both going to play bigger roles in Timepiece. Or at least I hope!

I’m really excited about this series. Hourglass was an awesome, different read, that left me pumped for more!

Yearbook Quote: “Do you usually wear a wife beater and, ” I pushed him back a little by his shoulder, “an apron that says ‘Kiss the Cook’ while you’re doing it?”

He leaned so close to me my heart skipped a couple of beats. “I’ll wear it all the time if you’ll consider it.”

(Ohhh… Kaleb….)

Superlatives – Most likely to start your flux capacitor

Like this post? You may like these too:

      

8 thoughts on “Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads.”

    1. Yeah, I’ve never gotten all these MCs who don’t like to wear dresses and pretty clothes… I mean, c’mon. I knew like 2 people like this in high school. The rest of us loved pretty clothes.

      Like

  1. I need to read this again too. This first time around I liked it (but didn’t loooooove it), mostly because I thought the end was a bit soap opera-y. But Michael…lordy I liked him. And anything having to do with time travel is awesomesauce. End. Of. Story.

    Like

  2. This book is so near the top of my TBR, it’s crazy. I can’t wait to read it. I have a soft spot for romance novel hotties. Sometimes I feel like the overprotectiveness should bother me more. Alas. But I love time travel! Especially when it’s easy to understand. Gotta get on this one so that I can read Timepiece!!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

