To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – New Classics

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Whenever I read popular books that are older, books from decades or centuries ago, I sometimes wonder if the writers, readers, whoever thought that book would fade away into memory or stand the test of time. Clearly, whatever they thought, the book has stood the test of time. In reading some books that were more recently published I think about whether they’ll stand the test of time. Obviously books such as the Harry Potter series will, but what about others? What will people decades from now think about books that come out today? Will they still be reading them and finding favorite characters in them as we do with books written ages ago? Or will they slowly fade away into our memories?

Here are my Top Ten Books Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years:

The Hunger Games – This ain’t no fad book; this mess is legit!

The Princess Diaries – I’m hesitant to put this on here, because some of the references are already dated, but the story is timeless and so much fun! And I’m PRETTY sure I’ll still be drooling over Michael Moschovitz in 30 years.

The Book Thief – Historical books probably have good staying power because everyone knows history, but this book is so beautiful that it, no doubt, will still be popular years from now. I’d bet my entire salary on it.

The Scorpio Races – Although I know this one is beloved by lots of people, I don’t feel like it rocks the boat too much and incites major fangirl reactions. To me, it’s a slowly growing fan-base that sort of lures you in. Which I guess could suggest staying power.

Jellicoe Road – If you’ve read this, I don’t need to explain.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – If any book that was written recently is still being read 30 years from now, I hope this is one of them. Such an original plot, full of twists and turns – what better type of book to stand the test of time?

Divergent – Like Hunger Games, this shizz is legit good. It’s powerful, action-packed, definitely not trendy. While a lot of dystopia is merely riding coattails, Divergent pretty much made it’s own outerwear line.

The Sky is Everywhere – This one may have lost some steam, but anyone who has read this and was affected by it (and really, who wasn’t) seems to recommend it or know someone who needs to read it. As far as needed books go, this one is at the top of the list.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – I don’t see this one being on anyone’s list, but I can totally see this being one of those random books AP English 12 teachers assign during the last month of school when there’s not much going on as far as prepping for the AP exam. Or at least I’d assign this book if in 30 years I’m teaching AP English 12 – which I assure you… I probably won’t be.

Anna and the French Kiss – Ok… no one’s probably going to be reading this in 30 years. Except me. I can so see my 60 year old self reading this, leaning over to my husband and saying “Why don’t we ever act like this anymore?” in that adorable old people way.

Hopefully WordPress will still be around in 30 years and I’ll still be blogging… how fun would it be to see if our predictions will be true?!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Classics”

  1. I can see all of these books standing the test of time. Many of these are favorites of mine too, and shame on me for still not reading Jellicoe Road. I need to get on that right away! I can not wait for the sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone- sigh. They should print your coattails/outerwear line comment on the cover of Divergent – very clever 🙂

    Like

    1. Dude… if they did that, my year would be MADE. I should send it in… maybe it can make it on the paperback cover whenever it comes out! haha

      And get on reading Jellicoe Road!!!!!

      Like

  2. I really want to read Miss Peregrine. AWESOME list, the only ones I haven’t read are Miss Peregrine and Scorpio Races. But you have excellent taste, so I really should get on that already. ~dixie

    Like

  3. I’m not sure if I agree with Divergent…I think I will withhold judgement until I’ve read Insurgent. Divergent is a fun story, but unlike The Hunger Games I’m not sure if it holds the same kind of underlying themes that make is so great…

    Like

  4. YAY The Scorpio Races and The Sky Is Everywhere!!! I had those, too, (and The Hunger Games as well) because I think they’re basically perfect and amazing. And I need to read The Book Thief. I see it on my book shelf EVERY DAY. That and Jellicoe Road. The two of them, I need to read ASAP.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

