Young Adult

TGIF @ GReads! – The Birth of GUYA

Today’s question seemed amazingly appropriate because today is the Grown-Up YA’s 6 month anniversary!

G over at GReads! asked:

What made you decide to start your very own book blog?

The answer is simple: I love to read.

But lemme expand on this. I first started reading young adult lit back in 2009 when I first picked up Twilight after watching the movie on a boring Friday evening. After racing through the entire series in a matter of days, I was completely hooked. None of my other books seemed to appeal to me and for the next year satisfied myself with reading more YA books and fanfiction.

Then, sometime in 2010, I found Forever Young Adult which is an amazing blog that you should check out. It became my go-to site for checking out what books to read.

Last year, 2011, I got the urge to start a website but had no idea what. I wanted a place to talk about books, to write fun reviews, and share my thoughts about what I was reading with others. So I decided to start up a book blog! Thus, the Grown-Up YA was born!

I had NO idea what I was doing, but kept on anyway. And I kept on keeping on and tada! Here we are today!

6 thoughts on “TGIF @ GReads! – The Birth of GUYA”

  1. I am glad you started book blogging, too! Your enthusiasm is often contagious and I love that you review a wide variety of YA books and your “Bonus Points” are awesome! I always think of my own bonus points when I read, but don’t want to rip off your blog, so I think I usually say “highlights” in my reviews. Just so you know, though, you inspired them πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Girl… feel FREE to steal my bonus points! I actually got the idea from Forever Young Adult and sort of modified it to fit my own tastes. I feel like the more I do them the more I think about bonus points whenever I read. Which I guess is a good thing! πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Well, it definitely helps because people can get a simple plot summary anywhere… but they don’t know the bonus points until they read a review or read the book. In some cases, bonus points have really piqued my interest in books I wouldn’t have bothered with otherwise!

        Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

