Young Adult

Happy Anniversary!!!! TO ME!

First off… lemme just say HOLY HELL YOU GUYS I’VE BEEN BLOGGING FOR SIX FREAKIN MONTHS!!! I never ever EVER thought that would happen and figured I’d lose interest after like a week. I’m trying to think of some fun things to do to celebrate The Grown-Up YA being 6 months old.  So here are my thoughts:

Recognize all the fabulous bloggers who have inspired me to keep going (in no particular order)

Amy @ Tripping Over Books – Amy was the first blog I officially began following and lemme tell you – the girl knows her stuff! She’s fun, she’s energetic, she tells you ALL THE THINGS you need to know about a book!

Lucy @ The Reading Date – Lucy is fantastic about introducing books that I either haven’t heard of or talking about books that I may be on the fence about. I totally trust her judgement – if she says it’s good, ya better read it!

The FABULOUS girls @ Forever Young Adult – This blog is the main reason I got into blogging about YA books. I read FYA for so long before I finally realized “hey, THIS is what I want to do!” They offer so many fun things, from craft ideas to recaps of last night’s Vampire Diaries to book clubs to pen pals! Love, love, LOVE this site and the fantastic girls who run it!

Allison @ The Cheap Reader – The Cheap Reader has become one of my favorite blogs very very quickly and Allison one of my favorite bloggers even quicker! She’s very genuine and open, honest without being snarky or mean – something I LOVE!

Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit – Shanyn is quite honestly COOL. She does some fun stuff on her blog, her reviews are always fantastic… I’m so glad I found her and her blog!

Tee @ YA Crush – I feel like Tee has been such a cheerleader since we’ve found each others’ blogs! She always leaves sweet, encouraging, and FUN comments and I love reading her posts (as well as her co-creator’s Vee’s)! Also, the girl’s got taste when it comes to lit men – I mean, she coined* the phrase Jonah effing Griggs for crying out loud! (*may be incorrect- I first saw it on her blog though!)

Maggie & Dixie @ Gone Pecan – Maggie and Dixie are newbies like me and I feel like we’re a trio of mismatched bloggy friends who all bring something extra special to the table. Both of these ladies have excellent tastes in books and I love seeing what goodies they talk about each day!

April @ Good Books and Good Wine – If I need an honest opinion on ANYTHING, April is the person I look to. She doesn’t play around with her reviews and gets to the point. For someone who tends to ramble like me, I NEED this. Luckily she has excellent tastes in books, so if I’m looking for some undiscovered treasure, she’s usually got about 20 stored up her sleeve!

Meghan @ Coffee and Wizards – Meghan always manages to open a new perspective for me. I love how different our opinions on things are and have mad respect for hers, even if I disagree. She’s great at discussion pieces and always has something fun going on over at her blog!

These people are all so very very awesome and I don’t think I would’ve made it as far as I have without their fantastic blogs and general awesomeness to inspire me!

Have a 90s TV montage of all my favorite posts

                 

Throw a Margarita and Cake Party

Unveil my Grown-Up YA blog button


Currently up for grabs on my home page! Get yours today!

Confess my love to Peeta the Intern

And finally… Why…

Thanks to everyone who has supported The Grown-Up YA these past 6 months! I love this fantastic blogging community and all the things I’ve gotten to experience due to it. I look forward to the next 6 months!

24 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary!!!! TO ME!”

    1. Thanks! And believe me… if I knew where he was hiding, I’d totally ask him out for a margarita. The heck with him being like 8 years younger than me! 🙂

      Like

  1. i love the blogging community, bringing together people who never would have met, finding someone who you can talk about with the important things in live (like Jonah effin’ Griggs)…thanks for being a part of our blog and for the kind words

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome and thanks for being a part of mine as well! Those are EXACTLY the reasons I’ve loved the book blogging community. I was so worried there would be a lot of snark or mean comments, but so far everyone has been just fantastic!

      Like

  2. It’s hard to believe it’s only been six months- you seem like a blogging veteran to me! You have such a fresh voice and it’s a treat to see all the cool stuff you put together. It’s obvious you put a lot of thought into everything you present on your blog. I love all the blogs you gave a shout out to and I’m honored to be among them. Keep being awesome and keep having fun, Candice! Cheers!

    Like

  3. I know, right? I feel like I’ve been doing this FOREVER! But in a totally good way. Thanks for all your great comments and support! I love all my blogging but mostly I love all the fantastic friends I’ve made along the way!

    Like

  4. Hells yes I coined Jonah Effing Griggs (in a moment of pure stupidity, I assure you)! 🙂 I’m so happy to be a fan of your blog. You always make me smile.You are a fabulous blogger and writer. Happy six month birthday!

    Like

    1. Hey, sometimes those moments of stupidity are the most profound! I wish I could have coined something so amazing as that! Thanks for all your support and kind words! 🙂

      Like

  5. HUZZAH!! Congrats!! *throws confetti* *pours more margaritas* I’m SO GLAD that you didn’t lose interest after a week of blogging. Your voice and your opinions are awesome and I would miss them for sure. This new job is KILLING my commenting time, but I’m going to get back in the groove again soon and you’ll be seeing me around your fabulous blog more often. And thank you so much for shouting me out like that. It totally made my day. <333 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, glad I could make your day! You often make mine with you fantastic reviews and blogging! I totally get jobs killing the commenting time; I’m luckily in a downswing in my job (thank goodness!)! Hopefully you’ll get into a groove soon and I’ll get to see more of your awesomeness around the block! 🙂

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

