To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – TV like this wouldn’t rot your brain

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

What ISN’T there a reality show about these days? Housewives, yard sales, motorcycles, pregnant teens… the list goes on and on and every day gets more and more ridiculous. But the one thing the reality market is lacking is book related shows!

This week’s Top Ten are Reality Shows I’d like to see authors on… but I’m changing it up a little bit. I’ve instead made up reality shows that I’d like to see (even though I really don’t like reality TV) and which authors I think would be awesome hosts!

Book Cook: Tasty Eats from your Favorite Reads starring J.K. Rowling  – I’m sure a lot of books have tasty foods in them, but no book series makes me think of food like the Harry Potter books do! With all the yummy foods J.K. Rowling has in her books, I’m sure she could host a pretty phenomenal cooking show!

History’s Mysteries with Rick Riordan – He’s already explained many of history’s mysteries to me in his great books. Why not let him host a TV show?

Real Housewives of the Summer Court with Julie Kagawa – I’m pretty sure this would be the most awesome show ever.

Dystopian Gladiators with Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth – Clearly in the future there’s no “America” left – sure, there’s bits and pieces of it, but we’re not talking flags, pie, and the Fourth of July America. We’re talking gritty, grimy, afraid of authority America. In other words, the PERFECT setting for a futuristic version of American Gladiators!

The Secret Life of the American Teenager Princess with Meg Cabot – C’mon… if there was a reality show about Mia Thermopolis you KNOW you would watch.

Iron Writer with Meg Cabot, Julie Kagawa, and Amiee Carter – If anyone can take a hidden plot and make it into a book in a time limit, it’s one of these ladies. Seriously. Meg Cabot seems to pop out book after book after book while Kagawa and Carter seem to have multiple books coming out between the books in their series… I would totally watch this show.

Since I don’t want to flood the market with too many book shows I’m going to stick with just 6 ideas. That and I really couldn’t come up with anything else! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – TV like this wouldn’t rot your brain”

  1. Ha! Love your shows. I would have liked to see a food show from Suzanne Collins. Harry Potter had a lot of food but THG’s food seems much more exotic.

    Like

  2. Love your take on the topic. I would add Dystopian Gladiators to my DVR for sure! And yes yes yes to the Meg Cabot show. How fun would that be!

    Like

  3. I love how you did this! I wish I’d thought to create shows… I worked hard to place authors on existing shows, and definitely ended up with some strange matches! Jane Austen on the Bachelorette, anyone?? Haha.

    Like

    1. Hey, if Jane Austen was combined with the Bachelorette, I just MIGHT watch that! I don’t watch any reality TV, so I was pretty stumped on which shows to name. The only ones I know of are the ones my dad watches… like “How it’s Made” or “American Pickers” Not the best shows for a Top Ten Tuesday!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

