To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Please ignore the Quick Quotes Quill

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I love quotes. You can quote me on that. I, no joke, will sit and read quote pages from movies, books, TV shows for HOURS. I look for quotes online for various subjects. You may even note my usage of quotes in the titles of my posts. This is why I’m so super psyched about this week’s TTT!

Here are my Top Ten Favorite Quotes from Books:

Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian “Erre es korakas, Blinky!” Dionysus cursed. “I will have your soul!”

OMG, I laughed and laughed and laughed at this quote. I kid you not. If you haven’t read Percy Jackson, please do so just so you can get to this particular scene and line and laugh as hard as I did.

Goddess InterruptedWithout the blankets, the room was cold, and I shivered. The mattress shifted underneath me, and Henry wrapped his arm around me and pressed his chest against my back. He was warm, and his hand searched until he found mine. “Please don’t leave,” he said, and his lips brushed against my neck. I trembled again, but this time for an entirely different reason.

There have been few scenes in books that have made me cheer out loud. This particular scene from Goddess Interrupted was one such scene. After reading this I felt all the air whoosh out of my body and realized I’d probably been holding it the entire time.

Chronicles of Narnia: The Last Battle“The term is over: the holidays have begun. The dream is ended: this is the morning.”

Not to get all metaphorical and religious on you, but this is how I view whatever afterlife is waiting. I think Mr. Aslan summed it up pretty nicely for me.

Anna and the French Kiss“I love you as certain dark things are loved, secretly, between the shadow and the soul.”

Lines like that just prove that Anna is NOT a fluffy cute book! Who hasn’t loved like that, knowing that the person is wrong, the love is wrong, but you still love regardless.

The Scorpio Races“It’s easy to convince men to love you, Puck. All you have to do is be a mountain they have to climb or a poem they don’t understand.”

(oh, and every other line in this book)

The Sky is Everywhere He smiles and takes his index finger and presses it to my lips, leaves it there until my heart lands on Jupiter: three seconds, then removes it, and heads back into the living room.

Wowzer… Seriously, with lines like this, who needs 3 page long sex scenes? Reading this makes me want to go make out with the first boy I see (wonder where Peeta the Intern is hiding out today…).

DivergentSomewhere inside me is a merciful, forgiving person. Somewhere there is a girl who tries to understand what people are going through, who accepts that people do evil things and that desperation leads them to darker places than they ever imagined. I swear she exists, and she hurts for the repentant boy I see in front of me. But if I saw her, I wouldn’t recognize her.

Although that’s really several lines of quote, I LOVE how powerful it is. How you can see Tris’s transformation, her separating farther from who she used to be and coming closer to who she now is.

Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn TreaderThere was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.

Yes… yes he did.

Little Women“. . . for when women are the advisers, the lords of creation don’t take the advice till they have persuaded themselves that it is just what they intended to do. Then they act upon it, and, if it succeeds, they give the weaker vessel half the credit of it. If it fails, they generously give her the whole.”

I read Little Women as a younger adult and found lots of lovely feminist tidbits in it. It was hard to narrow down just one great feminist quote!

Little Women“Be worthy, love, and love will come.”

Definitely great advice and something I strive for. Not necessarily to catch a man – although that would be nice! – but to be worthy of the love and respect from my friends, family, peers, etc.

I’m pretty sure if you could see some of my books you would note that they are mostly underlined messes… just the way I like em!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Please ignore the Quick Quotes Quill”

  1. Holy cow! Such awesome quotes. The one from Anna gave me chills because you’re totally right, there is a lot of cute, but that book has some great swoon. And and I think we should just put quotation marks around the entire book The Sky is Everywhere because every word is gorgeous! And Percy. Those books had me laughing so hard. I love how in The Battle of the Labyrinth, the very first line is “The last thing I wanted to do on my summer break was blow up another school.” That kid cracks me up.

    Like

  2. This is the perfect topic for you – you picked out some amazing quotes!

    Love that quote from The Scorpio Races. You’re right- that book is very quotable. And yes that line from Divergent says a lot about the growth of Tris. You make me want to re-read The Sky is Everywhere sometime too.

    I don’t know why but I never underline or write in my books, but I think it’s a great idea to help to remember these wonderful quotes.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

