Mythology, Young Adult

♪ You can fly, you can fly, you can flyyyyyy ♫

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

The Skinny: Helen has always known she was a little… different. That’s why she tries to stay as inconspicuous as possible. At the start of her junior year, a new family, the Delos family, moves into town and her entire Nantucket hometown is buzzing with excitement over them. That is, everyone but Helen. She first sees Lucas Delos in the hall at school and, in an instant, a horrible rage sets over her and she wants to kill him, literally. After an incident that nearly kills them both, Helen learns that she is a Scion, a descendent of the demigods and a member of one of the four ancient Houses of Greece. As her attraction to Lucas grows, they learn that being together could start a war and that they both play a powerful role in a tragedy the Fates are dying to repeat.

Warning: I read this book last summer and LOVED THE PANTS OFF OF IT. I reread it recently so I could prepare for reading Dreamless (the next in the series) and was not as impressed by it… so there’s going to be a lot of “well at first… but then… and now…” type comments.

BFF?: Helen is, in my opinion, a good BFF for Bella Swan. She’s whiny, she thinks she’s nothing special, and she has it bad for a guy who she knows she shouldn’t be with. But, like Bella, there’s something genuine about Helen; it’s easy to relate to her in that sometimes you just feel like you aren’t special and try to shy away from attention. But, unlike Bella, it doesn’t take Helen 4 books to realize that she IS special and to find her own strength. Towards the end of Starcrossed Helen sits on the cusp of awesomeness… she’s still a teenager, still hesitant and sort of whiny, but she begins to embrace who she is and understand her role in the bigger picture. I think if Helen wasn’t so “I just want to be invisible” she and I could be pretty decent friends.

Readability: When I first read this book I LITERALLY couldn’t put it down, it read so well. There was nothing difficult about it, the language was on a pretty easy reading level – in fact, some of the scenes made me feel old as dirt. This time around, though, I wasn’t quite as engaged, but it was still an easy read.

Crush Level: Originally, 9… this time, 7
Lucas Delos was probably one of the first hotties I came across and I honestly got the tinglies from him. He was brave and strong, protective… he was, in short, my dream man. This time around… I just didn’t get the same tinglies over him. He was still all those things I originally loved, but I guess because I’ve met so many other great guys since we last met, my tastes in men have changed. Lucas will always hold a special place in my heart and our memories together will always be cherished, but we’re just at different places in our lives now.

Bonus Crush Level: 9
Although I didn’t really notice him the first go around, Lucas’ older cousin Hector caught my eye during my revisit to the Delos compound. He’s kind of a jerk at first, but once I got to know him I realized he’s actually pretty caring and considerate. He’s the kind of guy who tells it like it is, but has the best intentions. I feel he’s going to be even hotter pretty soon…

Bonus Points:
Helen of Troy

I’ve always thought the story of Helen of Troy was so romantic… the face that launched a thousand ships… escaping a marriage with hot Orlando Bloom Paris. Starcrossed kind of erases all those romantic notions and makes you see what that story really was: two selfish teenagers who caused a 10 year world war because they couldn’t keep it in their pants.

Special Abilities

Like all demigods, the Deloses and Helen all have special abilities. As descendants of Apollo, the Deloses possess some of his powers, such as healing, music, and light. But there’s also flying, prophecy telling, water powers… these kids are awesome!

Family Matters

Every family has their own problems, there’s no getting around it. The Delos family has problems that will put your own family’s issues to shame. Not only is there major backstabbing, but any of them can kick your butt at the drop of a hat. But, at the end of the day, everyone loves everyone and all is well.

Commencement Speech: When I first read Starcrossed I’ll admit… I was majorly in love with this book. So much so that I went back and reread different scenes over and over. I didn’t want it to end! I loved the story, how fresh it was and how great of a take on classic mythology. The love story was easy to get into and made you smile over the awkward hotness of it all. This time around though, I wasn’t nearly impressed. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve gotten further into reading YA or I’m more of an attentive reader, but the story seemed… well, weak. It was still good, don’t get me wrong, but it just wasn’t as powerful as it was the first time. I started seeing little things that didn’t quite fit, like the dots weren’t EXACTLY connecting. I didn’t get that overwhelming feel of tinglies like I did.

Would I recommend this book to others? Yes, I absolutely would. The story is fun, it’s smart, it has a lot of great things going for it. It’s a light, fun, easy read that’s a great take on Greek mythology. But for me, I’ve just moved on.

Yearbook Quote: “Yeah, but damn!” Kate said, fanning herself with her hand. “When I was your age all of the guys were trying to prove how anti-establishment they were by out-uglying each other. I so got robbed!”

Don’t I know it… damn the 90s!

Superlatives – Most likely to be the result of Twilight and Percy Jackson hooking up

Like this post? You may like these too:

       

6 thoughts on “♪ You can fly, you can fly, you can flyyyyyy ♫”

  1. I had a tough time with this book. On one hand, I liked Lucas and I liked the bond that he and Helen shared, but on the other hand the whole thing just felt really jumbled together. It was like the author was trying so hard (in a not good way). And even though I like Mythology, the constant explanations bored me. Plus the whole dynamic between Helen and the Delos family was very Twilight-esque (not that that is a bad thing). I read this book in one sitting, but I don’t think I want to read the sequel, especially if you weren’t impressed by it.

    Like

    1. Yes! When I found out that the Delos family had 5 kids and were this new, mysterious family I thought it was going to be another Twilight. There were definitely Twilight vibes throughout the whole book. But like you said: it isn’t a bad thing. I’ve actually already read the sequel and it’s much more exciting than Starcrossed, but I dunno… I’m just not impressed like I wanted to be by this series, which makes me very sad. I really loved this book when I first read it!

      Like

  2. I struggled with this book but wasn’t sure if it was because of the main character Helen, the audio narrator or the writing. The mythology books don’t always click with me also so I never know. It’s interesting to see how your reaction changed upon a second reading. Wonder what you will think of Dreamless and if it will change your mind on the series. Now I’m going to have “You can fly” in my head all day 🙂

    Like

    1. I was pretty disappointed I didn’t LOVE this book the second time around. I actually have already read Dreamless (review to come!) and while the story was much better and Helen definitely improved, it still didn’t do it for me like other series have. I’m still into the series, but it’s not one of those “OMG this is so fantastic!” series.

      Like

    1. Had you asked me a month ago I would have suggested this book to you as a great Greek myth YA book. Like in a heartbeat. But now… now I’m second guessing the love. If I come across a great mythology book that I think you’ll like, I’ll send it your way! 🙂

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

