Contemporary, Young Adult

Hale the conquering hero!

Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter

The Skinny: Kat is now known as the girl who pulled off one of the biggest heists in history. So when she’s asked to steal the famous Cleopatra Emerald, she’s hardly surprised. But when she’s scammed herself, she must retrieve the emerald before an even bigger heist is pulled off, in front of the entire world.

BFF?: As I said in my review of Heist Society, Kat is the COOLEST. She doesn’t disappoint this time around either. It was very interesting to see how she’s changed since her last heist, how she’s more understanding of her limits and abilities. I also found it interesting how she was slowly becoming addicted to thievery and fighting against it. Needless to say, but I will anyway, I WANT TO BE HER BEST FRIEND!

Readability: I had listened to Heist Society as an audiobook so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from the actual book. The series definitely reads better than listens (or, it makes more sense if you read it rather than listen). I did feel the pacing was a little slower in this one, but maybe it was because I was reading rather than listening. It wasn’t a difficult read, but it wasn’t easy either. It kept you thinking, second guessing, look for clues… something I feel a good heist story should provide!

Crush Level: Would 8 bajillion work?
I for reals love Hale. TO PIECES. While I thought Uncommon Criminals was lacking in a few places, it was definitely not lacking in Hale yummyiness. I know this is a huge step backwards from my girl-power vibe I was touting the other day, but I think what I loved most about him in this book is that he got all protectorish of Kat. Not in an annoying way but in a “I want you to be safe. You’re not doing this because I don’t want you to get hurt. I am going with you so I can help you.” kind of way. But when Kat rolled her eyes at him and did what she wanted, he just shrugged and went along anyway.

Bonus Points:
Egypt

Not just the country, mind you… but artifacts, mystery, history… Egypt, while not my favorite historical place, always has this eerie mystery shrouded around it. There’s something magical about it and its history, the kind that gives you shivers and a smile.

Antony and Cleopatra

Although not one of my favorite “love” stories, the story of them in this book is kind of sweet.

More Heists

What can I say? I still love a good heist book!

Commencement Speech: Like Heist Society, Uncommon Criminals was a great escape from more serious reads that left me giggling and smiling. I didn’t exactly like this one as much as Heist Society, but I think it’s hard to compare the two since they were both in different formats. I loved the trickery and the deceit, getting to know Kat’s someone unorthodox family a little better, exploring new parts of the world with my favorite teen thieves. My only, ONLY complaint is that there was definitely not enough smoochy Hale time.

Yearbook Quote: Kat felt her heart beat faster, adrenaline pumping through her veins, and she knew he was right. She studied him for a long time. “Do you believe in curses, Hale?” He looked at her. “I believe in you.”

Le sigh…

Superlatives – Most likely to NOT be Ocean’s Twelve

Like this post? You may like these too:

       

1 thought on “Hale the conquering hero!”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

