Blog Tours, Young Adult

Pretty Amy Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY!!!

Normally, Friday the 13th is associated with bad luck, everything going wrong, and hockey mask wearing killers, but today I feel INCREDIBLY lucky to be a host on the Pretty Amy Blog Tour! I’ve been following Lisa Burstein, the fantastic writer of this book, for a while now on Twitter and let me tell you: she’s awesome! If you’re not following her yet, do it! If you don’t know Lisa yet, GET TO KNOW HER! She’s definitely bound to blow the pants off us all. And I mean that in the best way possible, not in some creepy kind of way.

I got to do an interview with Lisa and ask her some hard-hitting (ha) questions. Unfortunately at the time I had sent in my interview questions, I hadn’t gotten into the book yet. I wish I had waited to send in my questions! Pretty Amy brought up so many thought-provoking questions for me, things I wanted to ask Lisa about. <shakes fist in the air> Oh well… 🙂

What essentials do you rely on when you’re writing?

Coffee or wine depending whether its day or night, potato chips, my cat, my purple laptop, my day bed and rain tip-taping outside so you don’t feel like you’re missing out on something.

What made you decide/want to write a Young Adult novel? Are there any other YA authors who you felt influenced your work or inspired you?

I think a lot of first person, first novels are a way to get out everything you’ve been thinking and feeling for most of your life. I know my writing professors referred to them as info dumps ;). But anyway, I guess that is why I write YA because I felt like I still had all these things to say from when I was a teenager that I never got a chance to say. I also feel like teens need books in a way adults don’t. At least I know I did, I looked to books to help me make sense of what I was feeling. I guess I hope teens will use PRETTY AMY in the same way. In terms of a book that influenced in the writing of PRETTY AMY, I would have to say Catcher in the Rye. Not that I would even compare PRETTY AMY to the masterpiece that is Catcher in the Rye, but I wanted to write a book about a girl that *might* be a modern, funnier Holden Caufield.

Is there a genre of YA that you tend to gravitate to (paranormal, contemporary, etc) and what are some favorites from those genres?

Favorites in general? Contemporary for sure. I love Courtney Summers, Sara Zarr, John Green and Deb Caletti, any author who is willing to be raw and real.

Did you attend your own high school prom? If so, was yours as exciting as Amy’s? If not, did you do anything as an alternative?

I did not attend my prom. Honestly, I can’t remember what I did, but I am sure it involved brooding about the fact I did not attend my prom. I acted like I didn’t care about attending, but if someone would have asked me I definitely would have gone. I do regret missing it, maybe that was why I made it such a hard night for Amy ;).

If you could create the cast for a movie adaptation of Pretty Amy, who would you cast for which characters?

Amy: Saoirse Ronan
Joe: Josh Hutcherson
Aaron: Dylan Patton w/ auburn hair
Interviewer’s interjection: I added the pictures… clearly we need to see who our cast of characters are!
Are you as excited as I am about Pretty Amy? Do you want to READ Pretty Amy before it’s release? Well hey! I’m giving away an e-copy of Pretty Amy and YOU COULD WIN IT!!!!

Share your best, craziest prom story, tweet about the giveaway, follow me on Twitter, share my blog with your friends, tell your best friend about the book, sacrifice a lamb, bake cookies… Just enter to win! The contest will end on 4/27/2012, so get those entries in today. When I announce the winner I’ll share my own crazy prom story with you all!

Some ruleage first:
  • You must live in the US to enter
  • You must be at least 13 years of age
  • You must be awesome

3 thoughts on “Pretty Amy Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY!!!”

  1. Love this interview! And I think a modern day Catcher in the Rye for girls is a good description of Pretty Amy. I’m basically stalking Lisa on her blog tour because I loved the book and want everyone to read it 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

