Retro Reads

Retro Reads Thursday: Ramona Quimby: Age 8

Did anyone else have those book fairs when they were in elementary school? For book loving kids like me, this was the BEST week of the year! We used to have a “preview” day, receive our book catalog that listed all the books available and prices, and then get to go home and sit with our parents to decide what book(s) we were going to get. And then when we got to the book fair on our class’s shopping day throw all those plans out the window and buy all new books that caught our eye!

When I was younger, one of these books that caught my eye was Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary. Thus began my love of Ramona Quimby and I sought out all other books that starred my favorite little red-head! Although I loved the other books in this series, Ramona Quimby, Age 8 will always be my favorite.

Ramona is entering the third grade and turning 8, which makes her quite the grown up lady. Of course, no one else seems to think this and insist on treating her like a child. Her father has lost his job and there are changes within the Quimby household: new chores, new responsibilities, new pressures.

One of my favorite scenes from this book is when Ramona cracks an egg on her head. Apparently in her class the trend is to bring a hard-boiled egg with lunch. Her classmates are being silly and cracking the eggs against their foreheads. Trying to show off, she makes sure everyone is looking at her before smashing her own hard-boiled egg against her forehead, only to discover it isn’t boiled after all. It’s still raw.

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 is filled with antics such as these, making the life of a precocious 8 year old come to life. Out of all my books I remember from childhood, this one, and the rest of the Ramona series, holds a special place in my heart. I hope to one day share these books with my (potential) children, sharing my love of the fantastic Quimbys with them!

Also… if you haven’t seen the movie Ramona and Beezus, you should totally check it out. Although it does star arch-nemesis Selena Gomez, it’s still crazy cute! The little girl who plays Ramona is exactly what I expected her to be, precociousness and all!

 

Like this post? You may like these:

12 thoughts on “Retro Reads Thursday: Ramona Quimby: Age 8”

  1. totally cute. i remember loving book fair week, too, of course. recently, my pre-k son brought home a preview list for this same reason (i don’t think they had the fair because then all hell would break loose). i gave him a pen and told him to circle the ones he wanted. the order form was due in two weeks. for two weeks, whenever he had a spare minute, he’d grab the list and a pen and circle his little heart away. he would circle ones for himself, then ones for his little brother, he’d cross out…he ended up circling roughly half of the book. it was so cute. i just had to share. i’m making a book lover out of him. 🙂 (sorry to go on about my baby, it’s fun to share stories about your children)

    Like

    1. Your son is a boy after my own heart! I TOTALLY did this too! By the end of the “shopping” period I had so many scribbles and notes that I had to get a new catalog! Glad that he’s a reader so far! 🙂

      Like

  2. I guess I read this as a kid because I clearly remember the egg-smashing scene! Haha, I have two dogs I occasionally call Beezus and Ramona because the older one gets so irritated with the younger one following her around everywhere (although their real names are no where near Beezus and Ramona).

    And book fairs were the best! I think that was how I discovered the American Girl books. And we used to get little Scholastic catalogs sent home with us regularly where we could order and get the stuff sent to the school. I mostly remember buying cat posters, but also got books from time to time. I’ve been a book-buying addict for a long time.

    Like

  3. I love this book! Isn’t this the one where the cat eats the pumpkin? And where Ramona keeps imagining herself in tv commercials? Holy cow it’s been forever! I used to love Ramona the Pest. I just gave that one to my first grader. Ramona 4 Evah! 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh I don’t remember those scenes! The only scene I remember with Ramona and a commercial was her not understanding why R-O-L-A-I-D-S spells “relief”, a joke I definitely didn’t get when I was younger!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

