Young Adult

Mmm…. meat!

Happy Easter! A day late… And if you don’t celebrate Easter, I hope you at least indulged in some of the candy that gets associated with the holiday. It should be about 75% off today at stores!

I had hoped to get at least one book finished this weekend on my Easter vacation, but sadly… I did not. I didn’t even make a dent. Why, you may ask? Lemme show you…

My family and I went to the beach this Easter and enjoyed the beautiful, yet chilly, weather. I did take 3 books down there in hopes that I’d get through one. I took:

Fire – book format, as you can see above.

The Knife of Never Letting Go – Kindle format, didn’t even take it out of the suitcase

The Red Pyramid – audiobook, entirely too long and not good to listen to when you’re sleepy from driving

Aside from book reading, I had also hoped to do some work on another blog I help host, Cupcakes and Cover Letters, which is getting rejuvenated. I did not.

I had hoped to write a little bit. I did not.

So what did I do? Drive… and drive and drive. Apparently from work it takes over 6 hours to get to the beach. SIX HOURS I kid you not. I also got sunburned, which put me out of commission on Sunday – darn my WASP skin! (Although being Protestant doesn’t really have anything to do with my tendency to burn…)  We also had a crawfish boil which, for those of you who haven’t ever enjoyed the deliciousness of these, was a real treat! I did not, for those of you who have enjoyed the deliciousness of these, suck the heads. That’s just yucky.

And finally… I got to eat meat! I gave up meat for Lent, which I feel very proud of myself for doing, so I got to finally eat what I’ve been craving for weeks now. Sad part though? It was just meh. I may stick with the veggie diet a little longer.

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend/holiday and was more successful in reading than I was!

2 thoughts on “Mmm…. meat!”

  1. I didn’t touch a book or a computer all weekend! It was nice, but I am feeling so far behind today. The beach looks lovely and relaxing… I think it is time for me to plan a real vacation.

    Like

  2. I avoided the craziness in my grandmother’s kitchen by curling up on the couch with Spellbound by Rachel Hawkins. At one point, my aunt came out and said how smart I was to avoid the kitchen. I asked if anyone needed any help and she said, “Oh no. Stay here… save yourself.” So needless to say, I was able to get a fair amount of reading done! Hope everyone else had a nice holiday!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

