Gotta Get Down on Friday

TGIF at GReads! {57}: Book Blogger Retreat

I’ve I don’t really participate in this particular meme but today’s question from G at GReads! really made me a giggly girl so I thought I’d participate today!

Today’s question is: If you could gather up a handful of book blogger friends to spend a weekend away talking books, where would you go?

First off, I NEED A VACATION! Secondly, I think it would be kinda awesome to take a book blogger retreat! Most places I’ve seen today suggest the beach, or the mountains… but c’mon. Wouldn’t it be so much more fun to go somewhere fun? (not that the beach or mountains aren’t fun…)

I’m thinking if I wanted to plan a book blogger retreat, I’d pick some places that were literary relevant. Like pick a book and visit the setting (if real) or go to a place that inspired the book. Here are some random ideas of places that would be so much fun for a literary-themed book blogging retreat:

Forks, WA
Really, did you think this WOULDN’T be a suggestion? For book bloggers who loved the Twilight series, this would be such a fun place to go for a retreat. We could pretend we were starting our first day at Forks High School, go down to the Indian reservation and the beach where Bella first learned about the vampires, we could find a rusty orange truck and a swoony, pale guy and re-enact the scene where Edward saves Bella. Don’t act like this wouldn’t be awesome!

Harry Potter World, Orlando, FL
The ULTIMATE literary nerd retreat! I’d love to gather my fellow Harry Potter lovers and take a weekend trip to Harry Potter World, grab a butterbeer and talk about how great the books were!

Alice’s Tea Cup, NYC
I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it before, but I have a slight obsession with Alice in Wonderland. A friend of mine who lives in New York mentioned Alice’s Tea Cup, a tea room that is Alice in Wonderland themed. After getting over my hyperventilating and demanding to know why we didn’t visit here when I visited her last year, I told her we would be having my 30th birthday party here AND would be dressing up as characters from the book. You’re all invited, BTW!

Paris, France
Maaaaaaybe this is a stretch for a book bloggers retreat, but I’m thinking it would be fun just the same! Especially if we’ve all read Anna and the French Kiss. I feel like I’ve already visited Paris after reading this book, but I would love to go to the same places Anna and St. Clair did. While we’re not talking about book blogging, we can all go see old movies, eat French goodies, find French boys to kiss (well, for us single ladies anyway!). It’ll be an awesome retreat!

So, all my bloggy friends, are you ready? Let’s go!

Like this post? You may like these:

11 thoughts on “TGIF at GReads! {57}: Book Blogger Retreat”

  1. I’ve been to three of your suggestions and think they’re all fab. If I win the lotto this weekend (it’s something ridiculous like $500 million), and my husband and I bought one ticket each, I’d be happy to fly all of my book blogger friends to Paris or NYC! I’m a New Yorker (exiled to DC thanks to hubby’s job), and it’s just a magical place. Oh, and I read Anna and the French Kiss right before going to Paris on my 10th anniversary, so I’ve got a fab pic of me standing on Kilometre Zero.

    Like

    1. Oh, dear… my skin is turning a nasty shade of green right now because I am so envious you’ve been to most of these places! šŸ™‚ I’ve only been to NYC once but loved it! One day I’ll visit the others!

      And I hope you win the lotto… because I would totally let you fly me to Paris! šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m 100% down to go to any of these as sadly I haven’t been to any of them. šŸ˜¦ We can start planning whenever you are ready!! I’ve been trying to convince people to go to HP, but it would be nice to go with someone that is just as obsessed as me! you know they have the studio tour in London now too right? ~Maggie

    Like

  3. I’m coming too! I’m especially interested in the Alice Tearoom because 1) I love tea parties and 2) I love NYC and 3) I love Alice (though I’m all Disney because I’ve never read the actual books. Shame on me). I’m dying to go to Orlando and get my Hogwarts on, but did you know that in a few years you can do the same thing in Cali (which is better for me since, you know, I live in California)? They’re opening up a Harry Potter land in Universal Studios Hollywood in 2014. It would probably take me that long to save the money to go to Orlando (oh, the life of a single income family) so I have better chances hitting Hollywood, which is only an hour away. Now Paris on the other hand, oh I would love to go there. Someday. šŸ™‚

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

