Books on Tape, Young Adult

Books on Tape: Because I love a good thief

Heist Society by Ally Carter

The Skinny: In an attempt to get out of the family business, Katarina Bishop enrolls in a private boarding school, trying to make a normal life for herself. But when your family’s business is “acquisitions” it’s a lot harder to escape than she originally thought. Kat is suddenly thrust back into her own life, thanks to her friend Hale (who is a hotty pants), she must try to clear her father’s good name, whatever that may be, and recover several pieces of art that were stolen from a very important man. But when she discovers secrets behind these pieces, more than her father is on the line. Kat must pull off the biggest heist in her family’s history – with a team of teenage thieves.

BFF?: Kat is the COOLEST girl I’ve read about. Like, seriously, I want to be her BFF. I want her to teach me about thievery. I want to hang out with her and gossip about how hot Hale is. She’s smart – like thief smart – and funny and witty… she’s brave, almost too brave for her own good, and loves her family deeply. What I love best about her is that even though she may come off as this super cool, sexy teenage thief, she’s a little awkward and unsure of herself. She doesn’t quite realize just how important she is, how valuable she is, but when she does, WATCH OUT! 

Listen-ability: Angela Dawe MADE this book worth listening to. I’ve mentioned my qualms about female narrators, and while she did try to imitate the male voices, it wasn’t really obnoxiously done. She kept the book light, giving emotion where it needed to be while still maintaining the tone of the book. I listen to audiobooks during my commute home and sometimes I end up having to turn them off because I’ll start getting sleepy listening to the reader – not so with this one! Dawe kept me perked and entertained, laughing and commenting while I listened.

Crush Level: 8
Whether you agree or not, Hale was super hot. And I’m not just talking looks. He was the essential BGFF in this book, the one that although he’s your best friend, you really want to kiss him. Heck, I wanted to kiss him! There were just so many sweet times when he teased Kat moments before he comforted her… I loved how playful their relationship was, no drama, no desperate claims of devotion. It was just sweet, pure and simple. Although there are many, many other YA crushes I have, if I had to choose a guy that I’d want to be with, it would probably be Hale.

Bonus Points:
Heists

Yeah, maybe this is pretty generic, but I LOVE stories, books, movies, whatever that center on huge heists. I love the Ocean’s Eleven movies and all the different plannings that go on. The different cons, the technology and gadgets, the planning – it’s all SUPER interesting to me!

Art

They steal art in this book. That’s just kind of cool.

Globetrotting

Who doesn’t want to be able to jump on a plane at the last minute for a weekend jaunt in Paris? I loved how Kat and crew just hopped from here to there like it was no big deal. I feel like I have to put in hours planning just for a day trip to visit my parents. Forget flying to Paris for the day!

Commencement Speech: It seems like there are so many darker themed books out there and I always end up reading them. It was SO nice to get away from them for a little while and just listen to a light and fun story with bright, imaginative characters who had a great story. I sometimes worry that I miss out on reading when I listen to books on tape, but with this one I think I gained something. Dawe, the narrator, had a fun, quirky voice that truly made some of the characters for me. Even now I can still hear certain lines, certain voices, repeating in my head and can imagine exactly how the person would look and move as they spoke those lines. There’s not a whole lot to say about Heist Society that hasn’t already been said, but if you’re looking for something fun to fill the dull hours of a car ride, this is definitely one to bring along with you.

Yearbook Quote: “Kat,” Hale groaned, then fell back onto the pillows. “Funny, I didn’t hear a doorbell.” “I let myself in; hope that’s okay.” Hale smiled. “Or the alarm.” She stepped inside, tossed a pocket-size bag of tools onto the bed. “You’re due for an upgrade.” Hale propped himself against the antique headboard and squinted up at her. “She returns.” He crossed his arms across his bare chest. “You know, I could be naked in here.”

(Yeah… I might have been thinking “oh please, please be naked…”)

Superlatives – Most Likely to make you reconsider your alarm system

8 thoughts on “Books on Tape: Because I love a good thief”

  1. ohmygoodness you make me want to read this book. I love the Gallagher Girls, so I’ll give it a try. Maybe even on audio, if the library has it. Thanks for the great review!

    Like

  2. These books are great & I enjoyed listening to them on audio too. More heist stories in YA I say! Awesome review- looking forward to your review of Uncommon Criminals.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

