Contemporary, Young Adult

Awkward Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY!!!!

Have you ever played Dirty Santa at a Christmas party? Here’s how we play: Everyone draws a number. #1 gets to pick the first gift. #2 can either steal #1’s gift or pick a new one. And so on. So ideally, the person with the last number has the best advantage to get the best gift because he or she can either steal ANYONE’S gift – which you’ve already gotten to see and consider – or pick whatever’s still under the tree.
Of course, even if you don’t draw the absolute last number, one of the next to last numbers is just as good.
For the Awkward Blog Tour, hosted by Chick Loves Lit, I’m definitely one of the bloggers with the best advantage. As one of the last stops I’ve been able to see what others think about the book, get to know Marni a little better through guest posts and other interviews, see the reactions of potential readers. Maybe that’s cheating, but hey… you’re just mad because you got stuck with Aunt Milie’s gift of homemade apple jelly and crackers. 🙂
For my stop on the blog tour, I wanted to conduct an interview with Marni so we could all get to know her a little better, especially before I (and of course you) read the book. As this was my first author interview, I was a little torn about asking questions. I didn’t want to be generic and ask boring questions, but I did want to get to know Marni, not only as a writer but as a person who wrote this fabulous book. All I can say is that she didn’t disappoint!

Awkward is Marni’s first Young Adult published book, and she has two more coming out soon. Needless to say, I can’t wait to see if she does it again with the awesomeness… I have no doubt she will!
What essentials do you rely on when you’re writing?
Erm, Starbucks? I do my best work when I am caffeinated and surrounded by strangers. Starbucks in the best place for this to happen without making me look like I should have a nametag reading Hello! My name is Marni. I’m a geek! See, whenever it is impractical for me to be writing…that’s when inspiration inevitably strikes. Parties. Concerts. I now have to carry around a notebook everywhere with me!
Is there something that you wish you could tell your high school self NOT to do?

 
Stop beating yourself up! Seriously! You are not one step above sludge! So stop telling your

self that you are going to die alone and unloved. It’s okay that you are awkward. Your friends still care about you. It’s okay that you don’t know how to flirt. It’s going to make your life a lot funnier. It’s okay that you suck at math! Okay…you might want to work on that, but it’s not a hanging offense. So lighten up!

Tell us about your favorite “viral video.”
Eeek! I have so many of them! OkGo’s music videos really inspired me to write Awkward though. They were so simple. Four guys dancing in a backyard. Four guys dancing on treadmills. Four guys dancing with dogs (and a goat!). Oh, and four guys interacting with a Rube Goldberg machine! So hard to pick a favorite.
I think I’ll have to go w

ith their song “White Knuckles.” I just thought the dogs were adorable, the song was catchy, and it was really visually interesting.

My favorite super popular video has to be the Ellen DeGeneres interview with Kaley Cuocou about the Shake-A-Weight. Still cracks me up.
Did you and your BFF have any crazy antics in high school?
Out of my small circle of friends, I was always the crazy one/the girl most likely to break into song or to dance for a free muffin. But I can’t think of any particularly thrilling antics. I was the queen of Small and Pointless Acts of Rebellion. I did stuff like sneaking coffee into the school library.
Oh snap!
Yeah, that’s right. I went there.
What advice would you give to teens to deal with the awkwardness that comes with
being a teen?
Don’t beat yourself up. Someday you will probably look back and think wow, I was actually pretty cool. Maybe I hadn’t reached my full potential of awesomeness yet, but that’s only because I kept telling myself that I was a loser.
So, trust me, you’re really freaking great!
And life does get much better.
And there you have it!
Now back to me… See how fun Marni is?! I hope you’ll all get a chance to check out Awkward. In fact, I’m gonna give you the opportunity right now! I love this book so much that I’m willing to give it away and spread the love.
Some ruleage first:
  • You must live in the US to enter
  • You must be at least 13 years of age
  • You must be awesome
  • Bonus Points: For an additional “point” (i.e. entry) you must tweet about the giveaway and copy the tweet in the entry form below (feel free to say something like “@grownupya is giving away a copy of Awkward by @MarniBates because they are both awesome!”)
  • Bonus Points: For an additional “point” (i.e. entry) you must tell me about an awkward moment in your life – When I announce the winner I’ll share my own most awkward moment (and not yours!)

The contest will end on April 4, 2012 at 11:59 p.m. All entries must be sent by this date and time. The winner must respond back to my “You’ve won!” email within 48 hours otherwise another winner will be selected.
Good luck and I hope to see all your entries! 🙂
For more blog tour information, check out past tour stops here or go on to the next one, The Book Cellar.
1 thought on “Awkward Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY!!!!”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

