Young Adult

You do know how to turn a phrase quite nicely

Seeing as WordPress decided to delete all my work on this post, I held off on finishing it because it annoyed me so much. This was SUPPOSED to be posted on Wednesday but sadly was not. But I decided to start it over and re-post it, so here it is:

I decided not to do a book review post today for the following reasons:

  1. I saw Wicked last night and am way too exhausted to sit and write anything cohesive
  2. My Oscars post for today gave me crazy problems – just put the pictures where I want them darnit!
  3. I’m still too enthralled from Wicked to focus on anything else, which is making working very hard.

But I did want to post today so, instead of a book review, I thought I’d do something kind of fun… and book related.

Anyone who knows me pretty well knows that I use phrases from TV shows and movies like they’re going out of style. There’s probably not a day that goes by that I don’t use at least one line from 30 Rock or Scrubs. And we all know how much the language of my posts can sound like a scene from Clueless.

Lately though my quotetage (cool word I made up, no?) has gotten worse… I’ve started using book phrases and terms in my everyday speech. Which usually gets me very funny looks 9/10 times.

Here are some of my top book phrases that I use way too much:

  • Riddikulus – Used whenever something is annoying the snot out of me

This client is being riddikulus!

  • “I’m gonna need my green pill” – a phrase used when agitated or stressed; inspired from Matched
  • Cullen Driving – used to describe a form of driving needed when running late

I drove like a Cullen to work today but still didn’t make it on time.

  • Going District 12 – a phrase to signify the magnitude of one’s temper tantrums

Don’t make me go all District 12 on their asses.

  • “You. Yes You” – used simply put how I feel about another

I would like to make out with you. Yes you.

  • Zombie-pocalypse – the end of the world due to the rise of zombies
  • A word/phrase meaning… – used to describe words or phrases that might not be familiar

In her work she was diligent, a word here meaning she worked very hard to suck up to her boss in order to get a raise.

Are there any words or phrases you use in your everyday speech that are inspired by books?

2 thoughts on “You do know how to turn a phrase quite nicely”

  1. Lady, you and I are two peas in a pod. I love this post! Speaking fluent Movie/TV is huge in my life. And I do it so much that I forget that the way I say it is technically wrong (but not really). For example, I constantly quote Joey from Friends saying “Moo point” (it’s like a cow’s opinion. It’s moo) instead of moot point (who says that anyway?) and now when I hear someone say “moot point” I do a double take like, “What the hell does THAT mean?” Also, Scrubs? My husband and I have “Guy Love” and “Everything Comes Down to Poo” on our iPods. One of my favorite shows evah!

    Like

    1. OMG LOOOOOVVVVEEE Scrubs! I quote it all the freakin time! As well as sing all the fun songs from it – I can’t eat waffles or chicken salad without busting out a Scrubs song!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

