Retro Reads, Young Adult

Retro Reads Thursday Part Deux: What did YOU read?

Today’s Retro Read (posted earlier) featured one of my favorite series that I read as a younger teenager. Which got me thinking about all the fabulous series that were out there when I was younger: Sweet Valley, Babysitter’s Club, Little House, Christopher Pike, Fear Street…

Part of what I’ve loved about doing these Retro Reads Thursdays the past several weeks is digging through my old books (figuratively… I don’t like the idea of having to go dig through the attic!) and being reminded of the great reads I loved as a younger me.

I’ve also really loved seeing your reactions. I feel like most of the books I’ve discussed so far you’ve loved as well or remember reading when you were younger. So I thought I’d ask for a little discussion, because I’m really interested in seeing what YOU, my wonderful fellow book bloggers, read when you were a young adult. And, if you’re still lucky enough to BE a young adult, what are you reading now that you think you’ll remember when you’re older?

So join me on my weekly trek down memory lane and share what books YOU loved as a young adult!

5 thoughts on “Retro Reads Thursday Part Deux: What did YOU read?”

  1. I would say that what I read when I was a young adult should be considered retro because that was less that ten years ago. But, maybe the books I read in elementary school would be considered retro? I was really big into Fear Street books and the Goosebumps books where you could choose your own ending. I think those were called Give Yourself Goosebumps. I was also really keen on the Sideways Stories at Wayside School, The Bailey Street Kids, and The Plant that Ate Dirty Socks!

    Like

    1. OMG Wayside School was my FAVORITE when I was in elementary school! I found a copy of Wayside School is Falling Down a few weeks ago while cleaning out a drawer and I very nearly sat down and read it.

      Like

  2. The Babysitters Club. Sideways Stories from Wayside School. And that creepy book Behind the Attic Wall by Sylvia Cassedy. Yikes. By the time I got to high school, most of the literature sucked, or I was reading adult books, or all my time was sucked up with school. I think I missed an age where I should have read more!

    Like

    1. I agree… I can’t think of many YA books that were popular when I was a teenager. Most of the books I loved I read when I was a pre-teen or older kid (4th and 5th grade). I was reading adult books of my mom all during my teenage years or all the assigned reading books for school. Also, I feel like I know this “Behind the Attic Wall” book, but seriously can’t remember… I’m going to have to check it out!

      Like

  3. When I was really young I was a Babysitters Club girl.

    Other books that influenced my youth Harry Potter, Tamora Pierce’s Tortall Quartets, and I actually read Robert Jordan’s the Wheel of Time series… not sure if that should count though since it’s definitely an Adult series.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

