To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Moviebooks

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

This Top Ten Tuesday is Choose Your Own Adventure Top Ten. Which makes me a very happy girl.

I have a great love of movies, especially movies that are based on books. Why? Because it’s SO much fun to pick apart the movies and compare certain scenes from the movie to the book or discuss/rant/rave about how the characters are portrayed. So my topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten Moviebooks (or movies based on books).

Overall I’m not very organized – my work desk right now looks like a hurricane hit it. But there are two things that I keep in impeccable order: my clothes closet (arranged by color) and my movies. While my clothes are probably a little OCD, I like to arrange my movies by types. My favorite section are my moviebooks, or my movies that are based on books. Usually because the books they’re based on are my favorite books. Sometimes these movies don’t do very well in theaters and pretty much tank… doesn’t mean they aren’t great movies. And it doesn’t mean that they don’t earn a placement on the movie pedestal in my house!

So here are my Top Ten Moviebooks and their trailers (or whatever video I could find):

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

By now you probably know how much I love this book (and the whole Narnia series). While this adaptation does get a few things wrong – Susan was never that brainy and badass in the books – it does manage to capture all the magic of Narnia that I loved as a child. Best point? Tilda Swinton’s characterization of the White Witch. She was sooo much scarier than I ever thought imaginable! Also, Georgie Henley’s Lucy doesn’t manage to grate on my nerves like the BBC’s version of Lucy did.

Poor, unfortunate girl... I wanted to slap her for ruining Lucy

Interview with the Vampire

I remember sneaking to watch this movie after my parents went to bed – they had rented it and said I was too young to watch it. Yeah, at like 10 or 11, I probably was. The book was even better (which I read at like 10 or 11…); I remember crying a good deal when Claudia dies.

Matilda

Now okay, as a huge fan of this book I have to say that the movie didn’t do it any justice. They turned it into almost a slap-stick, over the top movie that appeals to those annoying kids. So why does it make this list? One word: Trunchbull. As a child she was the scariest, meanest, grossest character I’d ever read and seeing her come to life was EXACTLY as I had always imagined her.

Clueless

Did you know this was based on a book? Yeah, it was… Jane Austen’s Emma. Whether you’ve read this book or not, who doesn’t think this movie is  way existential?

Stardust

Not one of my more favorite books, but I seriously love this movie. It has all you could ever ask for: love, witches, pirates, Robert Di Niro dancing in drag… It also features Ben Barnes (yummy) and Henry Cavill (yummier) in a couple of bit parts. The book just didn’t have the same kind of magic as the movie and was a little more “adult” than I’d like.

Little Women

I ask you: how could this NOT be on here? Well, I guess if you don’t like the book or the movie… but that’s not me! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched this movie and every. single. time. I cry. Although there are several versions of Little Women out there, this is really my favorite.

Jane Eyre

There are so many versions of this out there it’s kind of ridiculous. But this version is my favorite. Whether or not you agree with the casting I love them. And Mr. Rochester… oh, Mr. Rochester.

Atonement

I HATED THIS BOOK. But I loved the movie. It was such a beautiful movie, deep and touching. The book sucked. How can this be?

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events

I saw this movie way before I read the first book of the series (A Bad Beginning) and fell absolutely in love with it. I watch this movie when I’m bored, which is quite often, and have seen it so many times I really don’t even have to pay attention to what’s going on. And after reading the book, I really saw how well it was portrayed and how Jim Carrey nailed the count. Wait. That sounded wrong.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 1&2

Yeah, this one HAS to make the list. Out of all the HP books I read the Deathly Hallows several times. Mainly because I lived at my parents’ for over a year and this was the only book I actually didn’t pack up and put into storage. There were so many scenes that I was so looking forward to seeing brought to life! I’m pretty sure that’s how people who were HP lovers before the first movie felt when the first movie came out.

Runners Up

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief; Alice in Wonderland; New Moon (yes, New Moon… I liked it, okay?)

This list was surprisingly hard to do! There are so many great books made into movies and, even though we all inwardly groan sometimes when we hear our favorite books have been made into movies, it’s always fun to watch our imagination come to life and see if what we envisioned are what others envision!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Moviebooks”

  1. I love everything you listed (though I need to read/see Lemony Snicket still. Obviously, all things Harry Potter are amazing but I totally freaked that you mentioned Atonement (Because…YES!) and Stardust. I actually saw Stardust before reading the book and was so surprised at how good it was (and then I read the book and understood why! I loved that book). Great list!

    Like

  2. Great list and quite a few movies I’ve never seen. Loved Clueless, HP, and Little Women. Also, Henry Cavill makes every movie he’s in worthwhile!

    Like

  3. LITTLE WOMEN! LITTLE WOMEN!! I love that movie so so much! That one was my introduction to Christian Bale (well, I guess Newsies was my introduction to him, but I liked him the best as Laurie, so we’ll go with that). PLUS. I always ALWAYS cry when Beth dies, and then there’s that scene right after when the housekeeper is spreading flower petals over her things *sob*. GREAT adaptation.
    Clueless, too, was amazing. To this day, I still say “as if!” LOVE IT.

    Like

    1. I cry at that exact same time too! I’ve gotten so where I can make it through Beth’s death scene but when Hannah spreads the flower petals all over the dolls… tears!

      Like

  4. Great list, great topic! Everyone should have an opinion about books to movies. I especially love Clueless…I still quote that movie and it came out in 1995! I would add BBC’s Pride and Prejudice and Anne of Green Gables, but that’s just me 🙂 ~dixie

    Like

    1. Oh, I wholeheartedly agree with you there! I have several movies that I love and are based on books, including both Pride and Prejudice (Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy = swoon!) and Anne, but wanted to stick with movies based on books that I’ve actually read! Although I do remember reading Anne now that I think about it…

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

