To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – What do you mean you don’t read?!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

This Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten Books I’d give to people who don’t like to read ___. I think I’ll fill in the blank with PERIOD. Because everyone should read.

Whenever I ask the magic question “do you read?” and get “not really” or flat out “no” as a response, I must admit: I’m a little flabbergasted. Who doesn’t read? And if you don’t, WHY DON’T YOU?! I’ve always read, even as a little girl, and can’t imagine a world without reading. There are so many good things that come out of it, ways to expand your mind and make you more aware of what’s going on in the world. Even something like a dystopian fantasy where fairies have overtaken the world makes you think about the status quo in your own life and what could happen. Also, a dystopian fantasy where fairie have overtaken the world? Someone write that, stat!

But for those of you who still may be hesitant about reading, who still think that books are the stodgy old tomes you had to read in high school, never fear. Here are my recommendations of books that could (and hopefully will!) turn you on to reading:

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – Whether you agree or not, this book is the holy grail of fantasy. Although it may be a little outdated, its content and storyline most definitely is not. LWW is not my favorite of the Narnia series but it does introduce a world that is full of imagination and excitement and is chock full of action and magic.

The Sky is Everywhere – This one is a little more artsy/poetic, but it has a great story and is full of heart. This book really turned me on to contemporary and feel like it’s a good book to ease into reading with. You know, if you like powerful stories that make you bawl like a baby.

Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married – Holy cow, READ THIS BOOK! It’s my absolute favorite book and I’ll suggest it to anyone, whether they like to read or not. Well, I’ll suggest it to adults. I don’t think teenagers would quite get it. But it really is awesome. Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Percy Jackson Series– Typically people who don’t like to read don’t enjoy it because it’s kind of serious. Whatever. This book is for them! The Percy Jackson series is hilarious and fresh. So what if it’s written for Middle Graders? I loved the entire series and laughed very loudly at many parts.

“Erre es korakas, Blinky!” Dionysus cursed. “I will have your soul!” (gods I laughed so hard at this line!)

It’s also a very easy read that you don’t have to think much about, which makes it great for those who don’t read.

City of Bones – Angels and sexy times… who could ask for more?

The Princess Diaries – I dare someone to read this and NOT fall in love with reading. Or Michael Moschovitz. Or reading about Michael Moschovitz.

Divergent – With all the new dystopian books out there it’s hard to wade through them all. I’m sure people who don’t read think it’s just like vampire books – they’re all Twilight-y. But let me tell you this one most definitely is not! It’s pretty straightforward, the world is fully developed and sucks you in almost immediately.

The Hunger Games -There’s a movie coming out. Enough said. Read the book.

 Someday My Prince Will Come: True Adventures of a Wannabe Princess – I picked this gem up at Borders in New York as part of their “We’re going out of business! Buy our books!” sale. This was one of the the best “biographies” (I’m not really sure it qualifies as one, but whatever) I’ve ever read. So cute and funny and you should just check it out. It definitely turned me on to quirky fun non-fiction!

Anna and the French Kiss – I hesitated putting this on here, but it’s such a great read and even if you don’t like reading you’ll love this and please just try it because I liked it oh so much and I think you will too unless you’re a heartless cad who doesn’t enjoy a good love story then maybe you should just wander over into the boring snotty non-fiction section and look at political histories and stop reading my blog.

I’m guessing that since most people who check out my blog actually read, this post won’t really turn you on to reading. So feel free to pass it along to your cousin who cant’ stand books or your next door neighbor who only reads Cosmo. I’m sure they will thank you. As will I.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – What do you mean you don’t read?!”

  1. i have to agree with almost everything on your list, i’ve only not read three of them, but i’ve been wanting to read marian keyes, so i think i’ll start with that one!

    Like

  2. All the ones I’ve read on this list seem to have universal appeal and are ones I’ve recommended many times (Divergent, Anna, The Hunger Games). Now I really want to check out Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married based on your recommendation.

    Awesome list! In our blogging community we are all big readers but you’re right that we all know people that never pick up a book. This list will help out a lot of reluctant readers I’m sure.

    Like

    1. Please do! Lucy is fantastic (IMO) and a great read (again, IMO). Also, I hope my list would help reluctant readers. Currently the only reluctant reader I know is my little sister and she just ignores my suggestions to read.

      Like

  3. YAY DIVERGENT! I agree that book is quite good and so hard to set down and I think it would definitely engage reluctant readers. /run-on sentence

    Also, Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married sounds interesting! Who is it by?

    Like

    1. It’s by Marian Keyes. It’s not a YA, but still great! I discovered it in college when I went through my “grab a book that looks pretty” phase and totally loved it. I’ve read it about a gazillion times.

      Like

  4. I just finished The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for the first time EVER last night. It took me 28 years to get to this novel, I’m ashamed.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

