To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Write more darn books! (Oh, and Happy Birthday)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

This Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten Authors You Wish Would Write More Books. Also, bonus Top Ten Tuesday!!! The Top Ten Books I Want for My Birthday!!!

This one, friends, is gonna be hard. Not because I’m still partying over a National Championship win by my Crimson Tide boys (Roll Tide!) but because wow, do I have any favorite writers that AREN’T still writing? Also, would it be wrong to list J.K. Rowling for #s 1-5?

As part of my week-long birthday celebration, aptly named “Birthdaython” (check out my personal blog, 30 Before 30 for more info) by yours truly, I’m making up my very own special Top Ten Tuesday list: the Top Ten Books I hope someone gives me for my birthday. Feel free to pass this along to others (or send copies my way if you are so inclined!).

J.K. Rowling – Who DOESN’T want her to write more?!

C.S. Lewis– I know he’s dead… but I could use some more Narnia in my life.

Jesse Andrews – Although new to the scene, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl was great. I want more Jesse Andrews!

Rosemary Clement-Moore – I’m sure she’s still writing, but write more damnit! <whispers> I love you!

Stephanie Perkins – Although I STILL haven’t read Lola and she’s coming out with a new book this year, I want another book from her.

J.K. Rowling – Perhaps I can convince you to write a book of short stories?

Tina Fey – If Tina wrote a YA book I would like… kiss her feet or something. Wouldn’t that be the best? IT WOULD BE LIKE MEAN GIRLS!!! but in a book.

Suzanne Collins – More Peeta, please.

Meg Cabot – But only if it stars Michael Moscovitz

J.K. Rowling – What if I gave you a Quick-Quotes Quill? Would you write something then?

Wow… that was major hard! Except for J.K. Rowling. However, if I were her and sitting on her millions, I probably wouldn’t write anymore either.

And now for the top ten books I want for my birthday! (I will try to keep these as realistic as possible. I know books like Fever don’t come out anytime soon)

Lola and the Boy Next Door – Wouldn’t this just be great with a big pink bow on it?

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Out in time for my birthday!

Perigee Moon – I don’t know if this is out yet, but I accept late birthday presents as well.

Shatter Me – Since the library STILL doesn’t have this, I will break down and buy it

Starcrossed – I want to own this. Seriously.

The Hunger Games Trilogy – Again. Ownage is needed.

Clockwork Angel – I’ve gotta start reading this series.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – This looks creepily awesome!

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares – Really want to read this

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – I’ve heard awesome things about this, and I do love me some awesome books!

Happy (early) Birthday to meeeee!!!!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Write more darn books! (Oh, and Happy Birthday)”

  1. Oooh, Tina Fey + YA? That’s genius! Good call on Rosemary Clement-Moore (I love you too). Thanks for stopping by and Happy Birthday!

    Like

  2. Jo Rowling has said she’s writing another book, but she’s in no hurry to finish. SHE NEEDS TO HURRY! Have a fantastic birthday week celebration – I turn 28 next month, so maybe I should spend the next two years celebrating before the dirty thirty extravaganza. Also, congrats to your Crimson Tide – I watched parts of the game, but couldn’t root for either team as I’m a diehard UGA fan and alumna – but a great win for the SEC!!!

    Like

  3. OHMYGOD I need Tina Fey to write YA. You are a genius.

    Also, sorry to burst your bubble, but Isla isn’t coming out this year, it’s going to be a 2013 release. Steph wrote about it on her blog 😥

    Like

  4. that was totally awesome. what do you think it would honestly take to get JK to write something else? she has everything. or could.
    but i honestly think she does have something in the works, but look at how complicated the harry potter series was, she woudl have to map all that out ahead of time. BUT IT WOULD BE AWESOME!!!

    my birthday is coming up, too, on the 25th…must start making my list!

    the infernal devices series is PHENOMENAL. you’ll love it. get to it! and i’m reading smoke & bone right now, it’s pretty great.

    Like

    1. Well happy early birthday to you! January birthdays are the BEST birthdays! I will try try TRY to make the Infernal Devices my next series read… just gotta get through all the books I have sitting around first!

      Like

  5. I love your blog and this post! J.K. Rowling would be my #1 pick of authors who need to write more, and it looks like you’ll be getting your wish! 🙂 (humm maybe she read your blog and saw it as some kind of bday wish? haha)

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

