To Do Lists

Top Ten Tuesday – Countin’ ’em down!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

As it’s that time of year again, this week’s Top Ten is Favorite Books of 2011.

Boy, not looking forward to this one! I feel like I haven’t read that much this year… Although my pocketbook and all the late fees at the library would say otherwise! So here goes, in no particular order, these are my favorite books I’ve read in 2011:

Bossypants, Tina Fey– No, not a YA book, but whatevs. It was really one of my favorites.

The Sky is Everywhere, Jandy Nelson- Best. Book. EVER! I loved the pants off of this and would read it again and again if my emotional state could handle it.

Divergent, Veronica Roth – I’m pretty sure it took my heart several DAYS to stop racing from this book. Days, y’all. Days. If anything, it just made me anxious to read the next chapter in this so far awesome series.

Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins– I know, not the Hunger Games (see funny story at end of this list). I loved the Hunger Games… I really REALLY did. But I thought Catching Fire was SO much better!

Starcrossed, Josephine Angelini – I could not put this one down. And when I had to, all I wanted to do was pick it back up.

Ella Enchanted – I should have read this years and years and years ago, but finally did in 2011. And I’m so happy I did! Also… I FOUND THE DVD IN THE $5 BIN AT WALMART!!! WINNNNNN!!!!!

Wither, Lauren DeStefano – Loved this one. Enough said.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky– Like Ella Enchanted, I’m so disappointed I hadn’t read this book sooner. It was just amazing. Like, want to give it a hug amazing.

Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins – Oh, man! I loved loved LOVED Anna. Or, maybe I loved loved LOVED St. Clair. Either way… love!

City of Bones, Cassandra Clare – Thank you, Ms. Clare, for getting me obsessed. Because I totally am.

New Year’s Resolution: Read more books!

Okay, as promised, funny Hunger Games story: For Christmas my parents got me a Kindle Fire (awesome parents!). We went to visit my grandmother and my dad was playing with the Kindle and asked me if I had any games on it yet. He was searching around on it when he asked, but I told him no. Well, I had already downloaded the Hunger Games and he saw that and said “Hey, what about this one? Hunger Game?” I had a good laugh and explained that no, it’s a book. Oh, Dad.

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Countin’ ’em down!”

  1. Hahahahaha I love your Hunger Games story! It sounds like something my boyfriend would do (is that a game? No, dear.).

    I’m glad to see Anna And The French Kiss make the cut as well as Divergent and Bossypants which although not YA, made me laugh hysterically.

    Like

  2. That is a cute story about the Hunger Games. And yay for receiving a Kindle Fire!

    You read some awesome books this year. The Sky is Everywhere, Divergent, and Wither are a few I enjoyed a lot. And I really want to read Bossypants! Hopefully next year…

    Hope 2012 is another great year of reading for you!

    Like

  3. I still haven’t read The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I need to get around to it before the movie is released. I loved City of Bones and Anna and the French Kiss and liked Ella Enchanted. I need to check out Bossypants. I should read more nonfiction in 2012. Great list!

    Like

    1. I definitely recommend Perks… I’m looking forward to the movie. Bossypants was one of my favorite reads ever. If you like Tina Fey (or have a mild obsession with her like I do) you’ll love Bossypants.

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

