Angels

If this school is what torment is, sign me up!

Torment by Lauren Kate

The Skinny: Just as they finally get to be together, Luce and Daniel are forced apart.  In an attempt to hide her from the Outcasts, Daniel sends Luce to a new school, one for Nephilim, called Shoreline. As Luce adjusts to her new life and discovers more about her past lives, she begins to question her relationship with Daniel and whether they truly are meant to be together.

BFF?: Luce really hasn’t developed since Fallen, which really bums me out. On the one hand, kudos to her for not just rolling over and taking Daniel’s “I want to save your life but don’t want to explain anything to you just yet” crap he keeps spouting. Yet on the other, WTF are you thinking?! Your ANGEL boyfriend says “Don’t leave or you will die.” Clearly that does not translate into “okay, it must be safe for me to leave.” Luce, what are you thinking?! Okay, okay, simmering down. Luce, we’re pals, we really are. But you’ve gotta get it together girl!

Readability: I liked this one TONS more than Fallen. I don’t know if it was because the plot was different or the characterizations were better… I really don’t know. I just liked it a lot more. Kate really knows how to suck you in, absorb you into her writing and then bam! hit you with something that makes you sit back and laugh or gasp. Her characterizations are spot on and I really feel like each one is his or her own distinct person. You know how sometimes you read a series and you think haven’t I already read about this character? Not in these books. Although at first I was weary about Luce going to a new new school and having to start the friendship train all over again, her first day at Shoreline was completely different from her first day at Sword and Cross. Her new classmates were fresh, their personalities different from her friends (and enemies) at S&C… even the teachers were new. In a nutshell, this book survived its sophomore slump and really holds its own in this series, outshining Fallen in its mystery and charm.

Crush Level: 7
I don’t know if Daniel managed to get hotter between Fallen and Torment or if Luce was just desperate missing him since he wasn’t at Shoreline, but man… my crush level for Daniel skyrocketed after this book. Okay, maybe I’m over-exaggerating because really it just jumped from a 6 to a 7, but there was just something more… mm about Daniel in this book. Maybe it was his bossiness or the way that he kept saving Luce but having to put his foot down. Is it weird that kind of turns me on? The heroic golden angel saves the simpleton princess? Yeah, that’s a new one for my therapist. (If I had one)

Bonus Points:
Team Shirts

It’s really funny how epic the “Team So-and-So” shirts joke has gotten. It’s even infiltrating our literature!

“If you two were going to be that obvious about it, why didn’t you guys come down in your Team Daniel and Team Miles T-shirts?”
“We should order those,” Shelby said.
“Mine’s in the laundry,” Arriane said.”

Score 1 for Lauren Kate!

Fancy Pants Angel Boarding School

Does this not sound like the COOLEST place to go to school? I’ve never been to boarding school (although my first two years of college were probably a lot like it – go small liberal arts private college!) but if this were the type of school I could get into, then sign me up! And if I were an angel? Heck yeah!

Superlatives – Most Likely to Throw a Ragin’ Angel Party

Comments make me happy, as do you!

