Angels

Where do you keep YOUR wings?

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The Skinny: Clary Fray’s witnesses what she thinks is a murder at a night club and suddenly she is thrown into a world she never knew existed. The world the Shadowhunters, descendants of nephilim who hunt demons, is filled with danger and mystery. When Clary is attacked by a demon and discovers her mother is missing she falls under the Shadowhunters’ protection. But why are the demons suddenly interested in her and her ‘mundane’ mother? How can she tolerate the protective runes the Shadowhunters draw on their skin? As the mystery unfolds she finds herself in search of her mother, trying to thwart the plans of the evil Valentine, and struggle with the new relationship she has with hotty mchotty Jace.

BFF?: Ohhhh yes! Clary is, quite honestly, the best! She’s not a whiney, annoying teenager who thinks “oh, woe is me!” when the going gets tough. She deals with her problems head on, rationally, and takes things as they come. She’s also got a great sense of humor and is pretty sarcastic, which she’ll need when dealing with Jace, Alec and Isabelle (her new Shadowhunter friends).

Readability: This book doesn’t play around. There’s no flowery prose or dramatic descriptions of a leaf. It’s just a full on, easy to get lost in kind of book that I could not put down. There was also a butt-load of humor in it that I found myself laughing at. Very loudly. Many inside jokes and dorky references that I’m slightly ashamed to say I got. It was also very refreshing to read a book that WASN’T written in first person! I liked being able to get to know not only Clary but the other characters as well. Rather than just making one BFF I made several!

Crush Level: 8
Yes… this is high. But hooooomigosh Jace is yummy! I’m not gonna lie: I really did develop a school girl type crush on him. Normally I don’t go for golden godlike boys, but for him I would make an exception. His relationship with Clary, although quickly forming (the book only spans like a week! A week!), is definitely the kind that gives a girl butterflies of excitement.

Bonus Points:
Angels

Apparently angels are the new vampires. This book really was my catalyst for getting into all the angel lore and it’s really pretty interesting.

Gay Wizards

Okay. MAYBE this isn’t really the best thing I could have put as a bonus point but hear me out. Magnus Bane, a warlock who helps Clary and the Shadowhunters, was one of the most awesome characters in the book. He was dramatic, flamboyant, and genuine. What more could you ask for (besides more Magnus!)?

BGFF (Best Guy Friend Forever)

Simon, Clary’s dorky side-kick who is madly in love with her, doesn’t really make me think “oh I want a BGFF!” But he’s ridiculously sweet, despite his lack of physique and dorky-ness.

Superlatives – Most Likely to Make your Toes Curl

1 thought on “Where do you keep YOUR wings?”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

