Dystopian

If this is your first time at Fight Club, you have to fight.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Skinny: Beatrice’s world is divided into five parts, or factions: Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). At 16 citizens choose which faction they want to live in. In a daring and surprising move, Beatrice chooses to leave her faction. Renaming herself Tris she struggles to survive the grueling initiation process of her new faction as well as determining who her friends, and enemies, are. She must also decide what her feelings are for the mysterious and fascinating, although aggravating, Four (who refuses to explain why he is nicknamed Four).

But when corruption and unrest in her seemingly perfect society threaten to reveal the secret she carries, Tris learns that her secret may be the one factor that can save or destroy her.

BFF?: If I ever needed an butt kicking friend, Tris would totally be her! While completing her initiation training she learns how to fight. I’m talking Fight Club fight. But she’s not all “rah! I like fighting!” There’s a quiet strength to her, partly from her upbringing in a faction that values selflessness over anything else, something she still holds onto no matter how much she changes. Tris is also aware of her flawed nature, she’s conflicted by how she is supposed to feel and how she actually feels.

“Somewhere inside me is a merciful, forgiving person. Somewhere there is a girl who tries to understand what people are going through, who accepts that people do evil things and that desperation leads them to darker places than they ever imagined. I swear she exists, and she hurts for the repentant boy I see in front of me. But if I saw her, I wouldn’t recognize her.”

She and I could totally hash our “I know I’m supposed to feel bad, but I really don’t” thoughts.

Readability: This book sucks you in like that (I know you can’t see, but I’m snapping my fingers)! It’s fast paced, understandable, action-packed… I had trouble putting it down because I was so worried about missing something. What makes this book even better is that Veronica Roth is only 23! (or she is when I wrote this) Major kudos for having such an awesome book at such a young age and hooray for us readers who get to have many more years of her awesomeness!

Crush Level: 8
There is some MAJOR hotness in this book. The romantic tension between Tris and Four is heart-racing… and they don’t even kiss for 3/4 of the book!

He gives me a conflicted look and touches his lips to my forehead, right between my eyebrows. I close my eyes. I don’t understand this, whatever it is. But I don’t want to ruin it, so I say nothing. He doesn’t move; he just stays there with his mouth pressed to my skin, and I stay there with my hands on his waist, for a long time.

That’s hot, right? There’s just something about Four that makes you all tingly – his mysteriousness, the way he genuinely cares about Tris but tries to hide it (you’re not fooling us!), his hotness… Who can blame Tris for falling for him and falling hard?

Bonus Points:
Secret Identities – Four is not who you think he is… or may he’s exactly who you think he is? I love when being able to slowly put pieces together and have an ah ha! moment about characters. Especially when there’s dozens of hints laced through the book.

Fear Formulator – There’s a lot of talk about “fear” in this book: what it is, who fears what, etc. and the initiates are made to face their fears as part of their initiation. I’m pretty certain if I had been part of this training, I would have yelled out “Riddikulus!” and embarrassed myself.

Superlatives – Most Likely to Start a Fight Club*

*I have actually never seen this movie…

3 thoughts on “If this is your first time at Fight Club, you have to fight.”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

